New North American Anime CD: Anime Toonz

posted on
Jellybean Recordings, the "#1 U.S. dance label", has released a new anime-inspired CD entitled "Anime Toonz Presents Kikuko Inoue".

Jay Harvey sent us this press release detailing a new Dance CD:

Jellybean Recordings is proud to present "Anime Toonz Presents Kikuko Inoue", a compilation of dance remixes of songs from various hit anime series.

Each song on this collection is covered in its original Japanese language by popular seiyuu (voice actor) Kikuko Inoue, who is well known to anime fans as the voice of Belldandy in "Ah! My Goddess", Kasumi Tendo in "Ranma 1/2", and Rune Venus in "El Hazard". Ms. Inoue has played countless other roles in anime and video games, has released about 30 music CDs, played concerts, done radio shows and performed voice-overs for Japanese-language dubs of American movies.

The vocals layed down by Ms. Inoue were then remixed by three up & coming DJ/remixers: Small Jet from Japan, KGK from NYC, and Beta from NJ/NYC. The remixes vary in genre from deep house to progressive house to trance to drum & bass; this variety of styles provides a fresh, exciting twist to the original songs which will be enjoyed by fans of anime and dance music alike.

Artwork for the CD and printed inserts was illustrated by Mr. Shinya Hasegawa, who is famous for this character design and work for Sailor Moon R, S and SuperS, as well as for Neon Genesis Evangelion and the Utena TV series and movie.

The compilation was produced by Jason Chin and Taeko Baba, both clubkids/longtime fans of anime and anime music. It is released on the U.S.'s #1 (per Billboard Magazine year 2000 club play chart share) dance label -- Jellybean Recordings.

Look for "Anime Toonz Presents Kikuko Inoue" at your local or internet music store as of April 10, 2001, or at your favorite anime specialty store.

Future volumes with different songs sung by other popular seiyuus or J-pop artists are in the works.

AniPike has a listing in their new pike links for this cd on ($16.97 MSRP). has posted a track listing for this CD:
Track Listings
1. N Paka March (from "Crayon Kingdom")
2. Yume No Naka E (from "Kareshi Kanomjyo No Jijyo")
3. Tenshi No Yubikiri (from "Kareshi Kanojyo No Jijyo")
4. Yuzurenai Negai (from "Magic Knight Rayearth")
5. My Heart Iidasenai, Your Heart Tashikametai (from "Ah! My Goddess")
6. Yakusoku Wa Iranai (from "Vision Of Escaflowne")
7. Itooshii Hito No Tame Ni (from "Fushigi Yuugi")
8. Moonlight Densetsu (from "Sailor Moon")
9. Kimi No Mado Kara (from "Sakura Diaries")
10. Zankoku Na Tenshi No Thesis (from "Neon Genesis Evangelion")
11. Virtual Star Hassei-gaku (from "Revolutionary Girl Utena")
12. Catch You Catch Me (from "Cardcaptor Sakura")

bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives