• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Sound Decision

by Jonathan Mays,
Title: Gungrave Original Soundtrack #1
Artists: Tsuneo Imahori
Label: Geneon Anime Music

Release Date: 2004-07-06
Suggested Retail Price: $14.98


Crimelord Harry MacDowel's bloody rise to power leads to the tragic betrayal of his best friend, Brandon Heat, who has now returned from 'Beyond The Grave' sworn to exact bullet-blazing vengeance upon his enemies! A perfect companion piece to the 'Gungrave' TV anime series is the oh-so cool 'Gungrave Original Soundtrack Uno "Righthead," arranged by master jam guitarist Tsuneo Imahori (Trigun, Texhnolyze, Arjuna).

From the entrancing, jazzy-funk opening theme "Family" to the violin/guitar blend in the poignant track 'bitter ending,' band leader Imahori proves that nothing on his stellar anime soundtracks are ever routine or predictable, with his experimental, freestylish approach to mixing in unusual sounds (cavaquinho strings, mandolin, wulitzer) alongside traditional instruments to create some truly amazingly distinctive hear-pleasurable music tracks.

In this 19-track no-speed-limit jazz session are the vocal songs 'clue' and the gypsy violin/bass grooving ending theme song 'When the sunset turns red.'

Track list:

01 family
02 clue
03 do your business
04 the maverick
05 add'o guaglione
06 when?
07 image of father
08 hit the jackpot!
09 prayer for the rain, song for the wind
10 B-G
11 coaltar overdose
12 16% of humidity
13 great flair
14 say, it ain't so.
15 city
16 jester's dream
17 fearful stereo
18 bitter ending
19 When the sunset turns red (TV size)

Total time: 1:01:46

discuss this in the forum (5 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

back to Sound Decision - Then and Then
Sound Decision homepage / archives