Team Italy Wins World Cosplay Summit 2013

posted on by Lynzee Loveridge
America, Thailand, Japan, S. Korea, China are runners-up in 11th international cosplay event

Team Italy was declared the victors of The World Cosplay Summit 2013 finals in Nagoya, Japan on Saturday. 20 countries including the United States, competed for the top spot in the contest's 11 year.

Italian cosplayers Andrea Vesnaver and Massimo Barbera won this year's grand prize as Ankoku Daishogun and Mazinkaiser from Mazinkaiser: Shitou! Ankoku Daishogun. The duo won the ANA Prize as well as the Niconico Award. This is Italy's first win in three years, having won in 2010. Vesnaver stated the Ankoku Daishogun costume took four years to make.

America's Cupcake Cosplay (Tiffany Tezna, aka Starlighthoney, and Cassandra May, aka Breathlessaire) took the second-place LIVEDAM award as Alice and Vivaldi Queen of Hearts from Heart no Kuni no Alice - Wonderful Wonder World . America also won the Brother Prize for costuming.

The third-place Bushiroad award went to Chittaworn and Pongwat of Thailand as Raiden and Monsoon from Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance.

Other winners include Korea's Hong and Park for The AniStar Award for their renditions of Zero and Copy X from Rockman Zero. Joysound Award went to China's Chen and Wang as characters from Monster Hunter 3G. Japan won the Cyperous Award for best wigs. Japan's team Sakuji cosplayed as Dracula and Alucard from the video game Castlevania: Symphony of the Night.

This year's judges included returning judge and voice actor Tohru Furuya, voice actor Tomokazu Sugita, character designer Mel Kishida, Cure cosplay community site maintainer Tatsumi Inui, and ACOS producer Satoshi Ikenoya.

The World Cosplay Summit was launched in 2003 with four participating countries. Since then, it has expanded to 20 participating countries: Australia, Brazil, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, The Netherlands, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The last five years' grand prize winners were Japan (2012), Brazil (2011), Italy (2010), Japan (2009), and Brazil (2008).

Source: Mainichi Shimbun's Mantan Web

discuss this in the forum (16 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

Interest homepage / archives