• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya Storms Amazon.JP

posted on by Christopher Macdonald
Novels that the anime is based on Rank Highly on Best Seller List

The first seven Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu novels by Nagaru Tanigawa, on which the new TV series is based, have ranked highly on Amazon Japan's best seller list.

The books, which were released between June 2003 and August 2005 have been ranked 5-11 for a week now on a list that updates every hour. They are kept out of the top spot only by the pre-order of J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and various editions of The Davinci Code.

The novels rank in their release order (from volume 1 in fifth position to volume 7 in eleventh position).

The newest book in the series, The Indignation of Haruhi Suzumiya (Suzumiya Haruhi no Fungai / 涼宮ハルヒの憤慨), released on April 28, is not yet ranked in Amazon's best sellers list.

The novels released to date are:

Volume 1 - The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya / 第一巻: 涼宮ハルヒの憂鬱 , June 2003
Volume 2 - The Sighs of Haruhi Suzumiya / 第二巻: 涼宮ハルヒの溜息 , September 2003
Volume 3 - The Boredom of Haruhi Suzumiya / 第三巻: 涼宮ハルヒの退屈 , December 2003
Volume 4 - The Vanishing of Haruhi Suzumiya / 第四巻: 涼宮ハルヒの消失 , July 2004
Volume 5 - The Rampage of Haruhi Suzumiya / 第五巻: 涼宮ハルヒの暴走 , September 2004
Volume 6 - The Trembling of Haruhi Suzumiya / 第六巻: 涼宮ハルヒの動揺 , March 2005
Volume 7 - The Intrigues of Haruhi Suzumiya / 第七巻: 涼宮ハルヒの陰謀 , August 2005
Volume 8 - The Indignation of Haruhi Suzumiya / 第八巻: 涼宮ハルヒの憤慨 , April 2006

Please note: Suzumiya Haruhi no Fungai was previously translated in this article as The Resentment of Suzumiya Haruhi but has been changed to The Indignation of Haruhi Suzumiya, we feel this is a more appropriate translation.

discuss this in the forum (34 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives