Yowamushi Pedal New Generation Anime Casts Daisuke Ono, Yūma Uchida

posted on by Kevin Yuan
Characters attend rival school Hakone Academy

A stage event at AnimeJapan 2017 for the Yowamushi Pedal New Generation anime announced on Sunday that Daisuke Ono and Yūma Uchida will join the series as Masakiyo Dōbashi and Yūto Shinkai respectively. The anime's official website previously revealed the characters' designs earlier this month.

Daisuke Ono as Masakiyo Dōbashi, a new second-year at Hakone Gakuen who is also known as "Kaidō Dōbashi" (a pun on the Japanese words for "road" and "monster").

Yūma Uchida as Yūto Shinkai, Hayato Shinkai's younger brother and a first-year at Hakone Gakuen. He has an easy-going personality.

The official website announced last week that Jun Fukuyama will join the anime's cast as Komari Kishigami, a new first year at Kyoto Fushimi High School. Ono, Uchida, and Fukuyama will appear at the special "Tour de Yowapedal 2017" event to be held on July 9 at the Maihama Amphitheater in Chiba Prefecture.

The series premiered in Japan on January 9. Crunchyroll is streaming the series as it airs in Japan. The series is listed with 25 episodes.

The story of the original Yowamushi Pedal manga centers around Sakamichi Onoda, an otaku at Sōhoku High School. He loves anime and games so much, that he would ride his commuter bicycle to and from Tokyo's Akihabara shopping district in a 90-kilometer (about 60-mile) round trip over steep slopes after school. Onoda's life changes when he encounters his school's cycling team, and he ends up joining the competitive sport of bicycle racing.

The story of the third season is set after the previous two seasons and the August 2015 film, and after the previous third-year students have graduated.

Osamu Nabeshima is returning to direct the series and Kurasumi Sunayama (Bakuon!!), who worked on scripts for the first two seasons, is taking over series composition. Yukiko Ban (Yowamushi Pedal movie) is designing the characters and Hiroyuki Horiuchi is designing the bikes. Kan Sawada is returning to compose the music. TMS Entertainment is again producing the animation. Takaaki Natsushiro is performing the opening theme song "Cadence," and singer-songwriter Saeki YouthK (Yūsuke Saeki) is performing the ending theme song "Now or Never."

Source: MoCa News

bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives