Saredo Tsumibito wa Ryū to Odoru: Dances with the Dragons Anime Reveals More Roles, Songs, Premiere Dates

posted on 2018-02-21 10:20 EST by Jennifer Sherman
Series premieres on April 5 after delay

The official website for the anime of Labo Asai's Saredo Tsumibito wa Ryū to Odoru: Dances with the Dragons (literally, "Even So, Sinners Dance with Dragons: Dances with the Dragons") light novel series revealed the roles for nine previously announced cast members, theme songs, and the April premiere dates for the series on Wednesday. The anime will premiere on TBS on April 5 late at night at 1:58 a.m. (effectively April 6) and on BS-TBS on April 7 at 1:30 a.m. (effectively April 8).

The newly announced roles are: (Note: Character name spellings are not confirmed.)

  • Go Inoue as Genon
  • Atsushi Imaruoka as Herodel
  • Aya Suzaki as Arzel
  • Rintarou Nishi as Largonquin
  • Rica Matsumoto as Javeira
  • Hiro Shimono as Īgī
  • Motomu Kiyokawa as Yākutō
  • Tomokazu Sugita as Remedius
  • Akira Ishida as Zuo rū

fripSide (Clockwork Planet, A Certain Scientific Railgun) will perform the opening theme song "divine criminal," and Maon Kurosaki (Drifters, The Fruit of Grisaia) will perform the ending theme song "décadence."

The anime was originally slated to premiere on TBS on October 5, but was delayed to April 2018.

The story revolves around "jushiki" (lit. spell equations), the equations that govern the quantum constant "h" of action, change the laws of physics at the local scale, give birth to TNT explosives and poison gas, and cause incredible physical phenomena such as plasma and nuclear fusion. Two "jushikishi" (spell equationists) who use jushiki in battle are Gayus (who deals with bad luck with tact) and the beautiful but cruel sword-wielder Gigina. These two bounty hunters are caught up in a battle with dragons in the city of Eridana and in the intrigue of great nations.

The publisher Shogakukan describes the story as the "ultimate work that founded the dark light novel genre that changed the concept of light novels."

The anime stars:

  • Nobunaga Shimazaki as Gayus
  • Yoshimasa Hosoya as Gigina
  • Yōko Hikasa as Jivunya Lorezzo
  • Yuko Kaida as Nidvolk
  • Takaya Hashi as Mordin Orjes Gyunei
  • Mutsumi Tamura as Yorkan
  • Yoshino Nanjō as Curaso Opt Koga
  • Takanori Hoshino as Jesper Livy Raki
  • Sora Tokui as Berdrit Livy Raki

Hiroshi Nishikiori (A Certain Magical Index, Azumanga Daioh) is the chief director, and Hirokazu Hanai (episode director for The Future Diary, The Pilot's Love Song) is directing the series at Seven Arcs Pictures. Takayo Ikami (Penguindrum, Beautiful Bones: Sakurako's Investigation) is in charge of series composition, and Masaru Kitao (Death Note, Pops) is designing the characters.

Asai launched the Saredo Tsumibito wa Ryū to Odoru novel series with illustrations by Miyagi in 2003, and switched publishers from Kadokawa Sneaker Bunko to Shogakukan's Gagaga Bunko in 2008. (After the publisher switch, Asai rewrote the story and added the Dances with the Dragons subtitle to its title.) Illustrator Zain replaced Miyagi starting in the 14th volume of Gagaga Bunko's run. The 20th volume shipped on September 20, and the 21st volume will ship on March 20.

Wataru Mitogawa is drawing a manga adaptation that runs on Shogakukan's Sunday Web Every!!! online reading platform. Yaku Haibara adapted the story into previous manga in Kadokawa's Beans Ace magazine, and Kadokawa published one volume in 2006. The light novels have also inspired several drama CDs.

Source: Comic Natalie

discuss this in the forum (2 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives