Junichi Suwabe, Hiroyuki Yoshino Join My Hero Academia Anime Cast

posted on 2016-03-24 13:05 EDT
Also: "Roll Call" videos with English voice-over introduce Izuku, All Might

This year's 17th issue of Shueisha's Weekly Shonen Jump will announce two more cast members for the My Hero Academia (Boku no Hero Academia) anime on Monday. Junichi Suwabe will play Shōta Aizawa/Eraserhead and Hiroyuki Yoshino will play Present Mic.

In addition, the magazine will reveal that the title of Porno Graffitti's opening theme song is "The Day." The song will ship on CD on May 25. The magazine also published a tribute image for the My Hero Academia anime drawn by Naruto creator Masashi Kishimoto.

The anime will air on the MBS/TBS channel network's "Nichigo" timeslot every Sunday at 5:00 p.m starting on April 3. Funimation will stream the series in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Ireland as it airs in Japan.

Funimation began streaming "Roll Call" videos this week for Izuku Midoriya and All Might. The videos have English voice-over.

Viz Media is publishing the manga, and it describes the story:

What would the world be like if 80 percent of the population manifested superpowers called "Quirks" at age four? Heroes and villains would be battling it out everywhere! Being a hero would mean learning to use your power, but where would you go to study? The Hero Academy of course! But what would you do if you were one of the 20 percent who were born Quirkless?

Middle school student Izuku Midoriya wants to be a hero more than anything, but he hasn't got an ounce of power in him. With no chance of ever getting into the prestigious U.A. High School for budding heroes, his life is looking more and more like a dead end. Then an encounter with All Might, the greatest hero of them all, gives him a chance to change his destiny...

Previously-announced cast members include:

Daiki Yamashita as Izuku Midoriya
Kenta Miyake as All Might
Nobuhiko Okamoto as Katsuki Bakugō
Ayane Sakura as Ochako Uraraka
Kaito Ishikawa as Tenya Iida
Aoi Yūki as Tsuyu Asui
Ryou Hirohashi as Minoru Mineta
Marina Inoue as Momo Yaoyorozu
Yoshimasa Hosoya as Fumikage Tokoyami
Tasuku Hatanaka as Denki Kaminari
Toshiki Masuda as Eijirō Kirishima
Yuuki Kaji as Shōto Todoroki
Eri Kitamura as Mina Ashido
Kōsuke Kuwano as Yūga Aoyama
Kei Shindou as Kyōka Jirō
Masakazu Nishida as Mezō Shōji
Kosuke Miyoshi as Mashirao Ojiro
Kiyotaka Furushima as Hanta Sero
Kaori Nazuka as Tooru Hagakure
Tooru Nara as Rikidō Satō

Kenji Nagasaki (Gundam Build Fighters, Classroom Crisis, No. 6) is directing the anime at the studio BONES (Blood Blockade Battlefront, Concrete Revolutio, Fullmetal Alchemist). Yousuke Kuroda (Gundam Build Fighters, Honey and Clover, Trigun) is overseeing the series' scripts. The rock band Porno Graffiti is performing the opening, and the rock band Brian the Sun is performing the ending as their major label debut.

discuss this in the forum (4 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives

Loading next article...