Yoshino Nanjō, Satomi Arai, Sumire Uesaka Join Cast of Hatena Illusion Anime

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
Series premieres in January

This year's 51st issue of Shueisha's Weekly Shonen Jump magazine revealed three more cast members on Monday for the television anime of late author Tomohiro Matsu's Hatena Illusion light novel series.

The anime will premiere in January. The previously revealed cast includes:

Shin Matsuo (episode director for Eureka Seven, Ouran High School Host Club, Tokyo Ghoul) is directing the anime at Children's Playground Entertainment. Tatsuya Takahashi (Katana Maidens: Toji no Miko, Ms. Koizumi loves ramen noodles) is overseeing the series scripts, Ruizu Nakano is adapting Kentaro Yabuki's character designs for animation, Masakatsu Oomuro (My First Girlfriend is a Gal, Inugami-san to Nekoyama-san) is the sound director, and Kenichi Kuroda (insert songs for Liz and the Blue Bird, Sound! Euphonium The Movie - Our Promise: A Brand New Day) is composing the music.

Liyuu will perform the opening theme song "Magic Words," and Aina Suzuki will perform the ending theme song "Hikari Iro no Uta" (Light-Colored Song). The song will be Suzuki's debut as a solo artist.

Matsu launched the series with the first novel in November 2014, with illustrations by Kentaro Yabuki (To Love-Ru -Trouble-). The series remains unfinished due to Matsu's death in May 2016. The last volume he wrote was the fourth, which Shueisha shipped in November 2015. A new entry in the series titled Hatena Illusion R shipped on September 25. Pochi Edoya's manga adaptation is running on the Niconico Manga site, and the first volume shipped on September 19.

Matsu's Märchen Mädchen light novel series also inspired an anime adaptation posthumously. The 10-episode series premiered in January 2018. Two additional final episodes aired on on April 25, after a year-long delay. Crunchyroll streamed the series as it aired.

Source: Weekly Shonen Jump issue 51

bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives