• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
ANN Reader Survey • If you haven't had a chance yet, please fill out our annual survey, It's so helpful to us. As a thank you for filling out this massive survey, we're giving away 100 ANN subscriptions to people who fill it out. read more
  • remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

2017 Tokyo Anime Award Festival Reveals 10 Meritorious Service Award Honorees

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins

The official website for the 2017 Tokyo Anime Award Festival (TAAF) announced the 10 recipients on Thursday of the festival's Meritorious Service Award. The award honors those who have made great contributions to the growth of the animation industry and culture, and who have elevated the status of the anime industry through their art, expression, training of others, and international exchange.

The 10 recipients of this year's award include:

Susumu Aketagawa
Sound Director
Princess Knight, Akira, Legend of the Galactic Heroes

Hiroshi Ikeda
Mahōtsukai Sally, Flying Phantom Ship, Animal Treasure Island

Yoshifumi Kondō (posthumous award)
Animation Director
Anne of Green Gables, Only Yesterday, Whisper of the Heart

Sumio Gotōda (posthumous award)
Atarashii Dōga: Mittsu no Hanashi, Minna no Uta: Daremo Shiranai, Okaa-san to Issho: Yōji no Tame no Animation

Tadanao Tsuji
Art Director
Mazinger Z, Magnos The Robot, Dragon Ball

Taku Furukawa
Animation Author
Odoroki Ban, Speed, Minna no Uta: Ishindenshin Shiyō

Yoko Maekawa
Hyokkori Hyōtan-jima, Princess Knight, Cutey Honey

Eiko Masuyama
Voice Actress
Tensai Bakabon (Mama), Cutey Honey (Honey), Lupin III: Part II (Fujiko Mine)

Leiji Matsumoto
Original Author
Galaxy Express 999, Space Pirate Captain Harlock

Michiyo Yasuda (posthumous award)
Color Designer
Grave of the Fireflies, Only Yesterday, The Wind Rises

The Tokyo Anime Award Festival will be held this year in Ikebukuro in Tokyo from March 10-13. The festival will host a panel exhibition of the works of the 10 recipients, plus a special screening of a selection of their works. The recipients will receive their award in a ceremony on March 13.

The Tokyo Anime Award Festival launched the Meritorious Service Award in 2005 (when the festival was then called the Tokyo Anime Award and was part of the Tokyo International Anime Fair event). In 2014, when the Tokyo International Anime Fair and the Anime Contents Expo merged to form AnimeJapan, the festival launched as its own separate event.

Tokyo Anime Award Festival also grants awards to theatrical and television anime, as well as individual awards for different staff positions. Last year Love Live! The School Idol Movie won the Theatrical Animation Division award, Shirobako won the Television Animation Division Award, and Gintama won the Animation of the Year: Anime Fan Award.

The event's official website is now hosting the poll for this year's Animation of the Year: Anime Fan Award. The works listed in the poll had to screen or air between October 18, 2015, and October 15, 2016. The site has already used a previous fan poll to narrow down the works from 550 to 100, and fans can vote on their favorite from the top 100 list once a day. The poll ends on February 16. The site updates the current rankings at midnight JST each night.

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives