• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Evangelion's "Cruel Angel's Thesis" Theme Song Takes Heisei Anisong Grand Prize

posted on by Lynzee Loveridge

The Heisei Anisong Grand Prix decided what anime theme songs best encompass the last 30 years and crowned Neon Genesis Evangelion's "Cruel Angel's Thesis" and as one of two the reigning champions.

The song has remained a massive hit among karaoke fans and brings in a pretty coin for its writer Neko Oikawa. Oikawa revealed in 2015 that she earns over a hundred million yen (currently equivalent to $895,000) annually in royalties from the piece.

"Cruel Angel's Thesis" shared the award with the comparatively obscure insert song "Agape" from UFO Ultramaiden Valkyrie. The song was performed by the duo Melocure, made up of singers Megumi Hinata and Ritsuko Okazaki. The pair formed in 2002 but disbanded after Okazaki's untimely death due to a bloodstream infection in 2004.

The Heisei Anisong Grand Prix named many more winners. The judges broke down the era by decade and selected three winners for each of the 11 categories.

Winners from 1989-1999

Performance Award
•"Cruel Angel's Thesis" by Yoko Takahashi (Neon Genesis Evangelion OP)
•"Mezase Pokémon Master" by Rica Matsumoto (Pokémon OP1)
•"Moonlight Densetsu" by Dali (Sailor Moon OP1)

Song Lyrics Award
•"CHA-LA HEAD-CHA-LA" by Hironobu Kageyama, Lyrics by Yukinojo Mori (Dragon Ball Z OP1)
•"Rinbu Revolution" by Masami Okui, Lyrics by Masami Okui (Revolutionary Girl Utena OP1)
•"Turn A Turn" by Hideki Saijou, Lyrics by Rin Iogi (Turn A Gundam OP1)

Composition Award
•"Tank!" by The Seatbelts, Composed by Yoko Kanno (Cowboy Bebop OP)
•"We Are!" by Hiroshi Kitadani, Composed by Kōhei Tanaka (One Piece OP1)
•"Yūsha-ō Tanjō!" by Masaaki Endo, Composed by Kōhei Tanaka (GaoGaiGar: King of the Braves OP)

Arrangement Award
•"Blue Water"by Miho Morikawa, Arranged by Joe Rinoie & Masaki Suzukawa (Nadia - The Secret of Blue Water OP1)
•"Ultra Relax" by Tomoe Shinohara, Arranged by Takkyu Ishino (Kodocha OP2)
•"What's Up Guys?" by Shinnosuke Furumoto and Megumi Hayashibara, Arranged by Toshiro Yabuki (Sorcerer Hunters OP1)

Voice Actor/Actress Song Award
•"Give a reason" by Megumi Hayashibara (Slayers Next OP)
•"Platinum" by Maaya Sakamoto (Card Captor Sakura OP3)

Character Song Award
•"Ojamajo Carnival!!" by MAHO-DO (Ojamajo Doremi OP)
•"Totsugeki Love Heart" by FIRE BOMBER (Macross 7 insert song)
•"My Heart Iidasenai, Your Heart Yashikametai" by the Goddess Family Club (Oh My Goddess! OAV theme)

Artist Song Award
•"Sekai ga Owaru Made Wa" by WANDS (Slam Dunk ED)
•"Yuzurenai Negai" by Naomi Tamura (Magic Knight Rayearth OP)
•"Yūki 100%" by Hikaru Genji (Nintama Rantaro OP)

Planning Award
•"Hajimete No Chu" by Anshin Papa (Kiteretsu Daihyakka OP4)
•"FLY ME TO THE MOON" by CLAIRE (Neon Genesis Evangelion ED)
•"Zettai Unmei Mokushiroku" by Suginami Children's Choir (Revolutionary Girl Utena insert song)

Movie Theme Song Award
•"Eternal Wind ~ Hohoemi wa Hikaru Kaze no Naka" by Hiroko Moriguchi (Mobile Suit Gundam F91)
•"Itoshisa to Setsunasa to Kokorozuyosa to" by Ryoko Shinohara with Tetsuya Komuro (Street Fighter II: The Animated Movie)
•"Tamashii no Refrain" by Yoko Takahashi (Neon Genesis Evangelion: Death & Rebirth)

Special Prize
•"Butter-fly" by Kouji Wada (Digimon Adventure OP)
•"Sobakasu" by Judy & Mary (Rurouni Kenshin OP1)
•"Yakusoku no Tochi e" by Hiroko Kasahara (Patlabor: The Movie image song)

Audience Choice Award
• "Kimi ga Suki da to Sakebitai by BAAD (Slam Dunk OP1)
•"Catch You Catch Me" by Gumi (Card Captor Sakura OP1)
•"1/3 no Junjō na Kanjō" by Siam Shade (Rurouni Kenshin ED6)

CLICK HERE FOR 2000-2009
CLICK HERE FOR 2010-2019

Thanks to Ōmiya for the news tip

Source: Anisong Taisho

follow-up of Heisei Anisong Grand Prize Winners: 2010-2019
discuss this in the forum (23 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

Interest homepage / archives