• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Crying Freeman's Ikegami, Fist of the North Star's Buronson Start New Series

posted on by Alex Mateo
Manga series titled BEGIN launches on October 14

This year's 20th issue of Shogakukan's Big Comic Superior magazine is announcing on Friday that Ryoichi Ikegami (Crying Freeman) and Buronson (Fist of the North Star) will launch a new manga series, titled BEGIN in the 21st issue shipping on October 14. Ikegami will illustrate the manga, and Buronson will write the story under the name Sho Fumimura. The teaser tagline reads, "The revolution begins."

Ikegami and Buronson launched the Rokumonsen Rock manga (pictured right) in Big Comic Superior in 2013 after ending their Soul Lord 2 manga. Shogakukan published the Rokumonsen Rock's fourth and final compiled book volume in August 2015.

Ikegami ended his Tenshi wa Maiorita series in January 2015 and recently launched the Adam to Eve (Adam and Eve) manga in October 2015.

Buronson began the story for the Fist of the North Star action manga in 1983. The original manga has been adapted into numerous television anime, original video anime, and films.

Viz Media, Dark Horse Comics, ComicsOne, and Marvel Comics published several of Ikegami's previous works in North America, including Crying Freeman, Mai the Psychic Girl, Samurai Crusader, Sanctuary, Strain, Wounded Man - The White Haired Demon, and Ikegami's re-imagining of Marvel's Spider-Man. Gutsoon! Entertainment, Viz, and Dark Horse also published some of Buronson's manga, including part of Fist of the North Star, Fist of the Blue Sky, Japan, and King of Wolves.

discuss this in the forum (5 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives