• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Fireworks, Napping Princess, More Nominated for 41st Japan Academy Prize

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda

The Japan Academy Prize Association for excellence in film announced the nominees for the 41st annual awards on Monday. The five movies that have been nominated for Animation of the Year are:

Fireworks, Should We See it from the Side or the Bottom?

Napping Princess

Mary and The Witch's Flower

Detective Conan: The Crimson Love Letter

Night is Short, Walk On Girl

The live-action film adaptation of Yoru Sumino's Kimi no Suizō o Tabetai novel is nominated for Picture of the Year and Screenplay of the Year. For Destiny - Kamakura Monogatari, the live-action film of Ryohei Saigan's Kamakura Monogatari manga, Kōzō Shibasaki is nominated for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography, Nariyuki Ueda is nominated for Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Direction, and Anri Jōjō is nominated for Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction.

Ryōma Takeuchi received a nomination for Newcomer of the Year for his performance in Teiichi no Kuni.

The Nippon Academy-Sho Association, a Japanese group roughly comparable to America's Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences of Oscars fame, presents the Japan Academy Prizes every year. The nominees all receive "Awards of Excellence," but the actual top award in each category will be presented in a ceremony on March 2 at the Grand Prince Hotel New Takanawa in Tokyo.

Movies are eligible if they opened in Japan between December 16, 2016, and December 15, 2017.

The Animation of the Year category was only created 11 years ago. Last year, In This Corner of the World won the award. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, Tekkonkinkreet, Ponyo, Summer Wars, The Secret World of Arrietty, From Up On Poppy Hill, Wolf Children, The Wind Rises, Stand By Me Doraemon, and The Boy and The Beast were the previous winners. Before that, Studio Ghibli won the overall Picture of the Year Award for Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away.

Source: Mainichi Shimbun's Mantan Web

bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives