FuRyu's Caligula Overdose PS4 Game Reveals Promo Video, New Cast

posted on by Jennifer Sherman
Remake of original PS Vita game ships in Japan on May 17

A livestream revealed a promotional video, two new cast members, and the theme song for Caligula Overdose, the PlayStation 4 remake of FuRyu's The Caligula Effect PlayStation Vita game, on Friday. Chiharu Sawashiro, who voices the game's protagonist, narrates the video.

The video previews the remake's theme song "Cradle" performed by the in-game unit RePLiCA. The unit is comprised of SweetP (voiced by Emi Nitta), Mirei (voiced by Eriko Nakamura), and Sone (voiced by Yuka Ōtsubo), plus the new member Kuchinashi (voiced by Himika Akaneya). Shota Horie wrote the lyrics and composed the song.

In addition, the video previews three news songs: "Love Scope" by DECO*27, "Onboro" by PinocchioP, and "Suicide Prototype" by UtsuP.

The newly announced cast members are:

Shugo Nakamura as Stork

Himika Akaneya as Kuchinashi

DECO*27 is the character composer for Stork, and PinocchioP is the character composer for Kuchinashi.

The game will feature the option of a female protagonist (pictured below, voiced by Miyuki Sawashiro).

The game will also include two new members of the "Going Home Club."

The remake will use Unreal Engine 4, have enhanced graphics for event scenes, and features a redesigned battle system and user interface.

The game will ship on May 17. Those who pre-order the game will receive an album with 10 tracks, a booklet with a short story, a download code for a costume in the game, and a chance to attend an upcoming event.

In the original game's story, written by Tadashi Satomi, a virtual idol known as μ performs user-inputted songs and gains self-awareness through exposure to users' bitter feelings and dissatisfaction toward reality. Wanting to save humanity — which she believes is continuously suffering — she lures people to a virtual reality world called Mobius with her songs. She then imprisons them in Mobius, thinking they will be free from the suffering of reality and that all their wishes will come true. The game follows the nine members of the "Going Home Club," a club that was formed because the characters want to escape from Mobius and go home. The game's title refers to the "Caligula Effect," which is a pattern of behavior where one wants to see or do something more if it is denied to them.

The in-game composer characters are represented by real independent music composers, including 40mP (KagiP), OSTER PROJECT (Sweet P), Polyphonic Branch (Shonen Doll), CyoucyoP (Mirei), Asa (IkeP), 164 (Shadow Knife), and [email protected] (Sone).

The game's main cast is returning for the anime. The cast is as follows:

  • Chiharu Sawashiro as the protagonist
  • Rie Murakawa as Kotono Kashiwaba
  • Shunsuke Takeuchi as Shogo Satake
  • Rie Takahashi as Mihue Sonohara
  • Yoshimasa Hosoya as Kotarō Tomoe
  • Minami Tanaka as Suzuna Kagura
  • Yuichiro Umehara as Izuru Minezawa
  • Ari Ozawa as Naruko Morita
  • Shouta Aoi as Kensuke Hibiki and KagiP
  • Reina Ueda as μ
  • Eriko Nakamura as Mirei
  • Emi Nitta as SweetP
  • Sōma Saitō as IkeP
  • Yumiri Hanamori as Shonen Doll
  • Yūma Uchida as Shadow Knife
  • Yuka Ōtsubo as Sone
  • Asami Shimoda as Aria
  • Mai Fuchigami as Marie Mizuguchi

The game shipped in Japan for PlayStation Vita in June 2016. The game launched in North America on May 2, and in Europe on May 9. The release was digital only in the West.

The original game is inspiring a television anime adaptation in April 2018. Jun'ichi Wada (WorldEnd, The Disappearance of Nagato Yuki-chan, Ragnastrike Angels) is directing the anime at Satelight.

Sources: 4Gamer,

bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives