• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

SSSS.GRIDMAN, Girls' Last Tour Win at 50th Seiun Science-Fiction Awards

posted on by Egan Loo
Studio Nue co-founder Naoyuki Katō, Paprika author Yasutaka Tsutsui's autobiography, Mecha Samurai Empire also win awards

The 58th Japan Science Fiction Convention (Nihon SF Taikai) revealed the winners for the 50th Seiun Awards on July 27. The SSSS.GRIDMAN anime won this year's Media category, and Tsukumizu's Girls' Last Tour manga won this year's Comic category.

Studio Nue co-founder Naoyuki Katō (The Legend of the Galactic Heroes mechanical design, Guin Saga novel illustrations) won the Art category for the eighth time since 1979. Tsutsui Yasutaka, Jisaku o Kataru (Interview with Yasutaka Tsutsui), the autobiography by The Girl Who Leapt Through Time and Paprika author Yasutaka Tsutsui, won the Nonfiction category.

Hirotaka Tobi won the Japanese Long Story category with Harmonielehre, and Gengen Kusano (Last and First Idol) won the Japanese Short Story category with "Dark Seiyū." The Mecha Samurai Empire novel, written by Peter Tieryas and translated by Naoya Nakahara, won the Translated Long Story category, and Liu Cixin's "The Circle" (translated by Ken Liu and Naoya Nakahara) won the Tranlated Short Story category.

MINERVA-II1, the Hayabusa 2 spacecraft's rendezvous with asteroid 162173 Ryugu, won the "Free" category.

The awards this year are again separated into nine categories: Japanese Novel, Japanese Short Story, Translated Novel, Translated Short Story, Media, Comic, Art, Nonfiction, and a "Free" category. Each category has between 5-10 nominees. The nominees were chosen among works that were released between January 1 and December 31, 2018.

The attendees of "Sci-con," the 58th Japan Science Fiction Convention in Saitama, voted on the winners, and the staff announced the winners at the convention on July 27.

The nominees of the Media and Comic categories were:

Media Category

Comic Category

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives