• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

10th Media Arts Plaza Awards

posted on by Christopher Macdonald
Toki wo Kakeru Shojo and Taiyou no Mokushiroku win excellence prizes in anime and manga categories respectively.

The winners of the 10th Media Arts Plaza Awards have been announced.

Awards are given out in four categories, Art, Entertainment, Animation and Comics. One work is awarded a grand prizes in each category, with 20 more (five per category) given excellence awards. In all there are 24 winning titles from 1808 that were submitted.

In the animation category:

Grand Prize: "Toki wo Kakeru Shōjo" (The Girl Who Leapt Through Time) Director: Hosoda Mamoru - Japan Excellence awards: "Ohanashi no Hana" (The Talking Flower) Director: Kubo Amika, Inoue Seita - Japan "Sukima no kuni no Porta" (Porta of the empty country) Staff: Ryoji Arai (author), Wada Toshikatsu (animation) - Japan "Haru wo Mezame" (Awaking to Spring) - ENGLISH TITLE: "My love" - Alexander Petrov - Russia "Pika Pika" (Sparkle Sparkle) Monno Kazue and Nagata Takeshi - Japan "The Crane and the giraffe" - Vladimir Bellini - Argentina

Awards in the comics category:

Grand Prize: "Taiyou no Mokushiroku" (Revolution of the Sun) by Kawaguchi Kaiji, Japan Excellence awards: "Oo-ku" (Inner Palace) by Yoshinaga Fumi, Japan "Osaka Hamlet" by Morishita Hiromi, Japan "Hyakkiya Kosho" (Glance towards scandal*)by Ima Ichiko, Japan "Yotsuba to!" (Yotsuba&!) by Azuma Kiyohiko, Japan "Shi-ri-to-ri" (Beginning and End) by Chikuhama Kazuko, Japan

The winners from last year can be seen here.

discuss this in the forum (4 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives