• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Tatami Galaxy, Historie Win Media Arts Awards

posted on by Egan Loo

The Japanese government's Ministry of Cultural Affairs announced the winners of the 14th Japan Media Arts Festival Awards on Wednesday.

Animation Division

Grand Prize

The Tatami Galaxy (Masaaki Yuasa)

Excellence Prize

Mai Mai Miracle
"Fumiko's Confession" (article)
"Wakaranai Buta"

Encouragement Prize

"The Wonder Hospital" (Beomisk Shimbe Shim - USA)

Manga Division

Grand Prize

Historie (Hitoshi Iwaaki)

Excellence Prize

Kokō no Hito (Shinichi Sakamoto, Jirō Nitta)
Fūunji-tachi Bakumatsu-hen (Tarō Minamoto)
Bokurano (Mohiro Kitoh)
Red (Naoki Yamamoto)

Encouragement Prize

Uchi no Tsuma-tte Dō Deshō? (Shugeyuki Fukumitsu)

Award of Merit

Yoshiyuki Kurihara (shōnen manga editor)

The 14th Japan Media Arts Festival will be held in Tokyo from February 2 to February 13 next year. Previous winners of the Media Arts Festival Awards have included Mamoru Hosoda's Summer Wars and The Girl Who Leapt Through Time, Vinland Saga, Kunio Katō's "Tsumiki no Ie" ("The House of Small Cubes"), Gainax's Gurren Lagann, Mitsuo Iso's Dennō Coil, Makoto Isshi's The Piano Forest, Masaaki Yuasa's Kaiba, Koji Yamamura's acclaimed "Franz Kafka's A Country Doctor" short, Takehiko Inoue's Vagabond and Real manga, Nintendo's Nintendogs pet simulator, and Aniplex's Kamichu! slice-of-life school anime.

discuss this in the forum (12 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives