Final Fantasy VII Makes 2018 Video Game Hall of Fame

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
Spacewar!, John Madden Football, Tomb Raider also inducted

The Strong — the self-described "national museum of play" in Rochester, New York — announced the 2018 inductees to its Video Game Hall of Fame on Thursday. The inductees include Spacewar! (1962), John Madden Football (1990), Tomb Raider (1996), and Final Fantasy VII (1997).

The larger field of 12 finalists also included: Asteroids, Call of Duty, Dance Dance Revolution, Half-Life, King's Quest, Metroid, Minecraft, and Ms. Pac-Man.

The Strong launched the World Video Game Hall of Fame in 2015. The hall's inaugural class of games are Pong (1972), Pac-Man (1980), Tetris (1984), Super Mario Bros. (1985), Doom (1993), and World of Warcraft (2004).

In 2016, The Strong inducted The Legend of Zelda (1986), Sonic the Hedgehog (1991), Space Invaders (1978), Grand Theft Auto III (2001), The Oregon Trail (1971), and The Sims (2000).

In 2017, the inductees included Donkey Kong (1981), Halo: Combat Evolved (2001), Pokémon Red and Green (1996), and Street Fighter II (1991).

The museum describes the selection process:

Anyone may nominate a game to the World Video Game Hall of Fame. Final selections are made on the advice of journalists, scholars, and other individuals familiar with the history of video games and their role in society.

The museum's International Center for the History of Electronic Games is hosting a permanent display of the Hall of Fame honorees in its eGameRevolution exhibit. The museum also houses the Brian Sutton-Smith Library and Archives of Play, the National Toy Hall of Fame, the Woodbury School, and the American Journal of Play.

Source: The Hollywood Reporter's Heat Vision Blog (Patrick Shanley)

discuss this in the forum (10 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives