• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

32nd Annual Kodansha Manga Awards Announced

posted on by Egan Loo

The Japanese publisher Kodansha has announced the results of its 32nd Annual Manga Awards on Monday. The winners are all comedies, but of decidedly different styles: a magical girl comedy, a baseball comedy, a high school slice-of-life comedy, and a medical comedy.

Best Children's Manga

Shugo Chara!
Serialized in Nakayoshi (Kodansha)
Published in North America by Del Rey

Best Shōnen Manga

Motoyuki Tanaka
Saikyō! Toritsu Aoizaka Kōkō Yakyūbu
Serialized in Weekly Shonen Sunday (Shogakuan)

Best Shōjo Manga

Karuho Shiina
Kimi ni Todoke
Serialized in Bessatsu Margaret (Shueisha)

Best General Manga

Masayuki Ishikawa
Serialized in Evening (Kodansha)

Winners will be honored at a ceremony on June 20 at the Grand Prince Hotel Akasaka in Tokyo's Chiyoda Ward. Each winner will receive a certificate, a bronze statue, and 1 million yen (about US$10,000). The seven-member judging committee included Jun Fukami (Ward), Nobuyuki Fukumoto (Akagi), Shūichi Shigeno (Initial D), Daisuke Terasawa (Mister Ajikko), and George Morikawa (Hajime no Ippo). Tenshi no Frypan, Sayonara Zetsubō Sensei, Dear Boys Act II, I.S., and Ookiku Furikabutte won last year's awards.

Source: animeanime.jp

discuss this in the forum (7 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives