• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Ghost in the Shell: SAC_2045 Anime Season 2's Trailer Reveals Insert Song, May 23 Debut

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
Scott Matthew performs insert song "Don't Break Me Down"

Netflix unveiled a new trailer for the second season of the Ghost in the Shell: SAC_2045 anime during its AnimeJapan 2022 stage event on Sunday. The trailer reveals and previews the anime's insert song "Don't Break Me Down" by Scott Matthew, and also reveals the anime's May 23 worldwide debut date on Netflix. Netflix also unveiled a new visual.

Kenji Kamiyama and Shinji Aramaki are again directing the project at Production I.G and Sola Digital Arts. Russian illustrator Ilya Kuvshinov (The Wonderland) is returning as the character designer. Nobuko Toda (Sweetness & Lightning, The case files of Jeweler Richard) and Kazuma Jinnouchi Busou Shinki: Moon Angel) are composing the music. Toda is best known for composing the music of the Metal Gear Solid series alongside Harry Gregson-Williams, and Toda and Jinnouchi collaborated on the Ultraman anime. The pair also composed the soundtracks for the Halo 4 and Halo 5 games.

Masamune Shirow is once again credited as the original creator of the Ghost in the Shell manga, and the returning scriptwriters are Kamiyama (Eden of the East, Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex), Ryō Higaki (The Eccentric Family, Moribito - Guardian of the Spirit), Kurasumi Sunayama (Yowamushi Pedal, Gurren Lagann), Harumi Doki (Ultraman, Cyborg 009 Call of Justice), Dai Satō (Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex, Samurai Champloo, Eureka Seven), and Daisuke Daitō.

Daiki Tsuneta's Millennium Parade project is performing both the opening theme song "Secret Ceremony" and the ending theme song "No Time to Cast Anchor." Tsuneta's creative label PERIMETRON is also producing the opening sequence, and Millennium Parade members Shū Sasaki and Yūhei Kanbe are directing the opening sequence. Flying Dog is producing the music, and Sony Music Labels is collaborating on the theme songs.

The returning cast members include:

The first season debuted on Netflix worldwide in April 2020 with 12 episodes. Production I.G. USA president Maki Terashima-Furuta previously stated during an interview that the anime would have two 12-episode seasons, with Kenji Kamiyama (Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex) directing one of the seasons, and Shinji Aramaki (Appleseed) directing the other. Kōkaku Kidōtai SAC_2045 Jizoku Kanō Sensō (Ghost in the Shell: SAC_2045 - Sustainable Warfare), the compilation film of the first season, opened in Japan on November 12 for a limited two-week screening run in 20 theaters.

Sources: Netflix's AJ 2022 stage event and anime YouTube channel, Comic Natalie

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives