Mangapolo Reveals Winners of 2nd Manga Translation Battle

posted on by Reina Bolanos
Sarah Kim Perry wins grand prize, gets job offer & trip to Japan

Japanese motion comic publisher Mangapolo revealed the winners of the second official Japanese-to-English manga translation battle on Friday. The Digital Comic Association presented the contest with support from Japan's Agency for Cultural Affairs. In 2012, JManga sponsored the same contest.

The grand prize winner, Sarah Kim Perry, will receive a trip to Japan and a job offer of translating the rest of the manga she chose to translate, Koi to wa Yobenai.

First prize winners include Ami Ross, who translated Fuan no Tane Plus; Nina Matsumoto, who translated Acchi Kocchi; and Emily Balistrieri and Juri Ishikawa, who translated Saya Saya to. These three winners will also receive a job offer of translating their entire manga.

D.M Akie won the Audience Award for her translation of Koi to wa Yobenai. Runners-up, which were not announced, will receive a tablet computer. The awards ceremony will take place in Tokyo on February 13, and anyone is welcome to attend.

Contestants chose between four different manga to translate: Masaaki Nakayama's Fuan no Tane Plus, Ishiki's Acchi Kocchi, Machiya Hatoko's and Eda Yuuri's Koi to wa Yobenai, and Fumiko Tanikawa's Saya Saya to.

In addition to a fan vote, a committee of four judges assisted in the voting process by judging finalists on their Japanese-English translating abilities. The judging committee consisted of's Deb Aoki, manga translator William Flanagan, writer and designer Craig Mod, and author and co-founder of AltJapan Co., Ltd. Matt Alt.

Contest manager Mangapolo is affiliated with online retailer Tokyo Otaku Mode. Mangapolo collaborates with publishers to bring legally-produced motion comics to its YouTube channel in Japanese and English. Series for which Mangapolo has produced motion comics for include Attack on Titan, Dragon Ball, and Vinland Saga.

[Via Deb Aoki]

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives