• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Kana Hanazawa, Mai Nakahara, Saki Ogasawara Confirmed for Irregular at Magic High School Cast

posted on by Lynzee Loveridge
Magic school anime series to premiere in Japan on April 4

The official website for the Mahōka Kōkō no Rettōsei (The irregular at magic high school) anime confirmed on Thursday that Kana Hanazawa, Mai Nakahara, and Saki Ogasawara are in the voice cast. The website also updated with a new key visual.

Kana Hanazawa as Mayumi Saegusa

Mai Nakahara as Suzune Ichihara

Saki Ogasawara as Azusa Nakajō

The anime's story takes place in a world in which magic is not a fairy tale, but has existed for nearly one hundred years. In the spring, the Private Magic University Affiliated High School (Magic High School for short) is welcoming its new students, and names the top incoming student with the best grades the Bloom (read as "garland" in Japanese). The student called the Weed is the Bloom's replacement.

Siblings Tatsuya (Yūichi Nakamura) and Miyuki Shiba (Saori Hayami) are designated as the Weed and Bloom, respectively. Tatsuya is a young man who always has a farsighted expression, and Miyuki is a young woman who feels far more for her brother than sibling love. Since the day the two entered the gates of the elite school, the establishment's peaceful days have become chaotic.

Other cast members include:

Marina Inoue as Mari Watanabe

Ryōhei Kimura as Hattori Gyōbu

Junichi Suwabe as Katsuto Jūmonji

Takuma Terashima as Leonhart Saijō (Leo)

Yumi Uchiyama as Erika Chiba

Satomi Satou as Mizuki Shibata

Atsushi Tamaru as Mikihiko Yoshida

Sora Amamiya as Honoka Mitsui

Yuiko Tatsumi as Shizuku Kitayama

The website announced last month that LiSA will contribute the opening theme song. Both LiSA and ELISA will sing at a March 23 stage event at the Anime Japan convention. Voice cast members Yūichi Nakamura, Saori Hayami, Sora Amamiya, and Yuiko Tatsumi will also appear.

Manabu Ono (Horizon in the Middle of Nowhere, Saki Episode of Side A) is directing the anime with assistant director Yuuji Kumazawa at the Studio Madhouse. Original novel illustrator Kana Ishida is also handling the anime character designs with sub-character designer Maho Yoshikawa. The chief animation directors are Ishida, Maho Yoshikawa, and Shinichi Miyamae, while the action animation directors are Takashi Tomioka and Satoshi Iwataki.

Jimmy Stone and IZMOJUKI (Izumojūki/Junji Okubo) are the CAD and mechanic designers. Rie Ota (Kusanagi) is the art director with art designers Yoshihiro Ishimoto, Yūho Taniuchi, and Akihiro Hirasawa. Yukie Noguchi is the color key artist.

Shūhei Yabuta is the 3D director, and Yūki Kawashita is the director of photography. Kashiko Kimura is editing. Taku Iwasaki (Black Butler, Gurren Lagann, Soul Eater) is scoring the music with sound direction by Satoshi Motoyama and sound effects by Tomoji Furuya.

The light novels have 3.15 million copies in print, and ranked as the third top-selling light novel series in Japan last year.

The anime series will premiere in Japan on Tokyo MX TV and other stations April 4.

Source: MoCa News

Images © 2013 Tsutomu Satou/KADOKAWA ASCII Media Works/Irregular at Magic High School Production Committee

Update: Shizune and Mayumi images swapped. Thanks, Vaisaga

discuss this in the forum (8 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives