• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Viz Media, Crunchyroll to Stream Sailor Moon Crystal Season III Anime

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
Viz Media to premiere series on same day as Japanese broadcast

Viz Media announced on Thursday via press release that it will stream the Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon Crystal: Season III television anime series starting on April 4 on its website and on Hulu. Viz Media and Hulu will then stream subsequent episodes weekly on Mondays.

Crunchyroll additionally announced on Thursday that it will also stream the series starting in April and will be available for Crunchyroll members in the U.S., Canada, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, Latin America, and Central and South America, including the Caribbean. The site did not specify a debut date.

The third season will focus on the Death Busters arc (also called the Infinity arc), adapting the arc from the fifth and sixth volumes of the complete edition of Naoko Takeuchi's original Sailor Moon manga.

Kotono Mitsuishi continues to reprise the starring title role for the third season. Other returning cast members for the third season include:

New cast members include:

The third season will feature new staff. Chiaki Kon (Nodame Cantabile: Paris, Junjō Romantica, Golden Time) will take over from Munehisa Sakai in directing the anime. Akira Takahashi (Dokidoki! Precure, Suite Precure character design, Sailor Moon Crystal episode animation director) will take over from Yukie Sakō in drawing the character designs. Yūji Kobayashi is still in charge of the series' scripts. Takashi Kurahashi is returning as art director, and Yasuharu Takanashi is returning to compose the music. King Records will once again produce the music, and Toei Animation will again animate the series. The new season will have 13 episodes.

Etsuko Yakushimaru is performing the opening theme song "New Moon ni Aishite" (Fall In Love With The New Moon), and Junko Minagawa and Sayaka Ōhara will perform the first ending theme song "eternal eternity." Misato Fukuen sings the second ending theme song "Otome no Susume" (Maiden's Advice), while Kenji Nojima sings the third ending theme song "Eien Dake ga Futari o Kakeru" (Only Eternity Brings the Two Together). Mitsuko Horie and Momoiro Clover Z will also sing additional versions of the opening theme song.

The show will premiere on Tokyo MX on April 4 at 11:00 p.m., and will then air on Sun TV, TVQ Kyushu Broadcasting, TV Hokkaido, TV Aichi, and BS11.

discuss this in the forum (11 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives