• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Macross Delta's 1st Single Ranks #3 With 35,839 Copies

posted on by Rafael Antonio Pineda
Thousands attend Walküre idol unit's 1st mini concert & meet-and-greet

"Ichido Dake no Koi Nara/Run ga Pikatto Hikattara", the debut single of the Macross Delta anime's in-story idol unit Walküre, ranked #3 on the Oricon singles chart for the May 9-15 week. It sold 35,839 copies after shipping on May 11.

Walküre is composed of five members, including 15-year-old JUNNA, who is the singing voice of lead vocalist Mikumo Guynemer. (Ami Koshimizu voices the character's speaking voice.) JUNNA is the youngest major singer in a Macross anime project thus far. The other singers in Walküre are also voice-acting their respective characters: Minori Suzuki as Freyja Wion, Kiyono Yasuno as Kaname Buccaneer, Nozomi Nishida as Makina Nakajima, and Nao Tōyama as Reina Prowler.

Flying Dog is streaming a preview of the song's music video.

The first CD single included a voucher for a "high touch" event where fans can give JUNNA and Suzuki "soft high-fives" and receive a bonus postcard. The event came after a mini-live concert in which the two idols performed four songs at Kawasaki City's Lazona Kawasaki Plaza last Saturday. Macross co-creator Shōji Kawamori also made a surprise appearance.

The staff sold out every CD single they brought to the Kawasaki venue on Saturday. They also exchanged the CD singles' vouchers for the 3,000 actual tickets to the "high touch" event, but ran out of those tickets and resorted to handing out paper slips.

Thousands of more fans and onlookers watched the mini-live concert from the ground level and two upper floor balconies:

The group's first album will ship on July 6 with 12 tracks.

The group is also performing a "SANKYO presents 'Macross Delta' Tactical Music Unit Walküre 1st LIVE in Zepp Walküre Attack!" live tour, which will perform in Osaka and Nagoya in August and in Tokyo in September. The unit has announced more performances, and will announce more details about those extra performances during the anime's eighth episode on May 22.

The anime's first original soundtrack will go on sale on June 22. The album will contain 30 tracks from composers Saeko Suzuki, TOMISIRO, and Mina Kubota.

discuss this in the forum (14 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives