• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Japanese Masked Duo AmPm Dominate October with Three New Releases

Fans of masked production unit AmPm have three new reasons to celebrate, as the duo build upon their global following with three brand-new releases this month. AmPm remixes of a song by Ai Otsuka and the ‘Lupin the Third’ theme tune will be followed by a completely original track released by AmPm, which sees them reunite with previous vocal collaborators Michael Kaneko and Nao Kawamura.

The new singles will be released one per week for three weeks, with the first already released on October 7, and the remaining two on October 14 and 21.

The October 7 release was ‘Chime (AmPm Remix)’, the duo's reworking of Ai Otsuka's hit song ‘Chime’, which was part of an ongoing project where Otsuka is working with producers and track makers of a variety of genres. AmPm's collaboration was the third in the series.

Chime (AmPm Remix) -Music Video-


This will be followed on October 14 by ‘THEME FROM LUPIN Ⅲ 2019 - LUPIN THE THIRD JAM Remixed by AmPm’. This unmissable remix is the first part of an exciting project whereby a selection of high-profile artists will reinterpret original audio recordings from the soundtrack to the beloved ‘Lupin’ anime series. The music was originally recorded from 2015 to 2019 by Yuji Ohno, composer on the ‘Lupin’ series since the 1970s.

Then on October 21, AmPm will follow up with an original song, ‘hurt you’. This composition features guest vocalists Michael Kaneko and Nao Kawamura, both of whom have lent their voices to hit AmPm tracks in the past – with a combined 47 million plays on Spotify. This will be their first time to sing together on the same AmPm track. ‘hurt you’ is a danceable mid-tempo cut whose lyrics tell the story of a desperate, lovelorn man.

AmPm debuted in March 2017 with the instant hit track 'Best Part Of Us feat. Michael Kaneko', which has since racked up some 35 million plays on Spotify, bringing this fast-rising Japanese masked duo to fans around the world. Their three releases this month attest to the duo's impressive diversity of styles, as they master a range of genres and bolster a global reputation as producers, remixers and artists.

Release information

‘Chime (AmPm Remix)’

Out now (released October 7, 2020)

Links to ‘Chime (AmPm Remix)’ on digital stores and streaming services:



Released October 14, 2020

'hurt you feat. Michael Kaneko & Nao Kawamura'

Released October 21, 2020

Find AmPm on digital stores and streaming services here:


About AmPm

AmPm are a masked production duo from Japan who made a major global impact with their March 2017 debut track, ‘Best Part of Us’. The same year, they were the only Japanese artist to perform at Spotify On Stage, a festival in Indonesia hosted by Spotify. In 2018, they dominated stages around the world, from Ultra Miami to shows in Korea and Japan, and even a headline concert in New York. In addition to releasing their own original music, AmPm have remixed tracks by popular overseas artists such as AfroJack, R3HAB and Nicky Romero, along with remixes for renowned Japanese artists like Gesu no Kiwami Otome (‘Black Parade’) and MONKEY MAJIK (‘Tokyo Lights’), and production for Ken Hirai's track ‘Holic’. Collaborating with a plethora of dance-music vocalists, they have released more than 20 tracks to date. In March 2019, they were recognized at the Digital Contents of the Year 2018 / 24th AMD Award, winning the Special Jury Award. In June 2019, they produced V6's ‘All For You’. Today AmPm are one of Japan's most in-demand music production exports, with fans among artists and music lovers alike.

Music: https://AmPm.lnk.to/AmPm

Official website: http://AmPm.tokyo/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/AmPm.tokyo/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AmPm_tokyo

Facebook: https://www.Facebook.com/AmPm.tokyo/

note (Japanese text only): https://note.com/AmPm_tokyo

bookmark/share with: short url

Press Release homepage / archives