• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

The Stage is Set for Endwalker as Final Fantasy XIV Patch 5.55 Launches Today

PlayStation®5 Version Begins Official Service After Successful Open Beta

SQUARE ENIX® is today launching FINAL FANTASY® XIV Online Patch 5.55, the final story patch for the award-winning MMO ahead of the release of highly-anticipated fourth expansion pack Endwalker™.

Patch 5.55 marks the conclusion of the epic tale of FINAL FANTASY XIV: Shadowbringers™ by bringing additions to the main scenario, YoRHa: Dark Apocalypse and Save the Queen questlines, as well as marking the start of official service for the PlayStation®5 version following an open beta period.

Further details about the contents of Patch 5.55 can be found below:

● Patch 5.5 Main Scenario, Part II – The second part of this final main scenario update before Endwalker sets the stage for the upcoming expansion in grand fashion.
● YoRHa: Dark Apocalypse – Additional YoRHa: Dark Apocalypse story has been added to this epic crossover questline.
● “Save the Queen” Questline Update – This latest update includes a new field area, “Zadnor,” an increased resistance rank cap of 25, final enhancement of resistance weapons, and new large-scale battle content Dalriada for up to 48 players.

First released last month as an open beta, the PlayStation®5 Console Version of FINAL FANTASY XIV Online is also launching today, and comes with a host of new features and improvements, including:

· Framerate Improvements
· Faster Load Times
· 4K Resolution Support
· DualSense Haptic Feedback
· New Trophies
· 3D Audio Support

The FINAL FANTASY XIV Online Complete Edition, Starter Edition and the Shadowbringers expansion pack are now available on the PlayStation®Store. Additionally, users with a PlayStation®4 license registered to their account can upgrade to the PS5™ Upgrade Edition at no extra cost, while new players can experience the game on the PlayStation®5 via the Free Trial version or by purchasing the Complete Edition.

A trailer for the PlayStation®5 version of the game can be seen here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L7ZEkdtTp8o

The recently announced fourth expansion pack of the FINAL FANTASY XIV Online saga, Endwalker, is scheduled to release 23rd November, 2021 for PC, Mac, the PlayStation®5 system, and the PlayStation®4 system. Endwalker is the culmination of the Hydaelyn and Zodiark story, in which Warriors of Light will encounter an even greater calamity than ever before, and will bring an abundance of new content, including multiple new jobs, an increased level cap, vast new areas, adjustments to the battle system, as well as a variety of new battle, crafter and gatherer content.

FINAL FANTASY XIV: Endwalker's full trailer can be found here: https://youtu.be/I4uwkvxsUac

Visit the official FINAL FANTASY XIV: Endwalker site here: https://eu.finalfantasyxiv.com/endwalker/

With over 22 million total registered players and a new expansion on the way, there has never been a better time for newcomers to begin their adventures in the critically acclaimed FINAL FANTASY XIV Online saga. The expanded Free Trial now includes all content from A Realm Reborn and the Heavensward™ expansion (and updates through Patch 3.56), as well as an additional playable race (Au Ra), and three additional playable jobs (Dark Knight, Astrologian, and Machinist). Free Trial players can enjoy hundreds of hours of award-winning gameplay and story experiences equivalent to two full FINAL FANTASY titles, without limit on playtime. More information is available here: http://sqex.to/FFXIVFreeTrial

Related Links
Endwalker Teaser Site: http://eu.finalfantasyxiv.com/endwalker/
SQUARE ENIX® Press Site: https://www.Square Enix-press.com/
The Lodestone®: http://eu.finalfantasyxiv.com
Official Facebook®: https://www.Facebook.com/FinalFantasyXIV
Official Twitter®: @FF_XIV_EN
Official Instagram®: @ffxiv

About Square Enix Ltd.

Square Enix Ltd. develops, publishes, distributes and licenses SQUARE ENIX®, EIDOS® and TAITO® branded entertainment content in Europe and other PAL territories as part of the Square Enix group of companies. Square Enix Ltd. also has a global network of leading development studios such as Crystal Dynamics® and Eidos Montréal. The Square Enix group of companies boasts a valuable portfolio of intellectual property including: FINAL FANTASY®, which has sold over 161 million units worldwide; DRAGON QUEST®, which has sold over 82 million units worldwide; TOMB RAIDER®, which has sold over 82 million units worldwide; and the legendary SPACE INVADERS®. Square Enix Ltd. is a London-based, wholly-owned subsidiary of Square Enix Holdings Co., Ltd.

FINAL FANTASY XIV © 2010 - 2021 SQUARE ENIX CO., LTD. All Rights Reserved.



ENDWALKER, SHADOWBRINGERS, the FINAL FANTASY XIV logo, CRYSTAL DYNAMICS, DRAGON QUEST, EIDOS, EIDOS MONTREAL, EORZEA, FINAL FANTASY, the FINAL FANTASY logo, THE LODESTONE, SPACE INVADERS, SQUARE ENIX, the SQUARE ENIX logo, TAITO and TOMB RAIDER are registered trademarks or trademarks of the Square Enix group of companies. “PlayStation" and the "PS" Family logo are registered trademarks and "PS4" and “PS5” are trademarks of Sony Interactive Entertainment Inc. All other trademarks are properties of their respective owners.

bookmark/share with: short url

Press Release homepage / archives