• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Forum - View topic
Anime uploads to Youtube.

Anime News Network Forum Index -> General -> Anime
View previous topic :: View next topic  
galaxyspyer

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 9:26 pm Reply with quote
can i upload anime in youtube if it is only liscensed in north america and australia.As i live in different country.or will they ban my account in youtube.im new to this stuff.and i want my friends to view it on youtube so i am uploading it.so how does this work.
ikillchicken

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 10:12 pm Reply with quote
Technically, unless you own the rights to an anime (which of course you don't) you can't upload it to youtube. It doesn't matter where it has or hasn't been licensed. The bottom line is that the content isn't yours so you can't upload it. (As far as whole episodes go anyway. There may be fair use exceptions for partial clips). That's the official rule though. As I understand it, youtube's actual enforcement is pretty random.
Cecilthedarkknight_234

PostPosted: Sat May 18, 2013 10:24 pm Reply with quote
If you want t make a review and use footage from your own dvd collection that's fine. However you can not upload full episodes of any anime series with out owning the said rights so don't even try.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website My Anime My Manga
Mr. Oshawott

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 11:47 am Reply with quote
Any videos of full episodes of any anime show on YouTube is guaranteed to be wiped out within just days, or even hours after they're uploaded, so yes, as ikillchicken and Cecilthedarkknight have mentioned already, it's best to not even attempt doing that.
Besides, what's the point of watching anime shows on YouTube when there are anime websites available in which you could watch them there?
dtm42