• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Ryukishi07's Higanbana no Saku Yoru ni Gets Game

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
07th Expansion's game for PC to be released in August

Higurashi: When They Cry creator Ryukishi07's new horror manga series Higanbana no Saku Yoru ni (The Unforgiving Flowers Blossom in the Dead of Night) is getting a personal computer game adaptation under his 07th Expansion dōjin (self-publishing) circle. Ryukishi07/07th Expansion also created the games for Higurashi: When They Cry and Umineko no Naku Koro ni.

Ryukishi07 launched the manga in Fujimi Shobo's Monthly Dragon Age magazine in April of 2010. Illustrator Nisieda created the original character designs for the manga, and Ichirō Tsunohazu is drawing the actual manga art. The second volume of the manga was released in April.

In the storyline, there is a collection of Japanese horror stories that has been passed down from generation to generation as the "Seven Mysteries of [Japanese] Schools." However, there is an eighth mystery called "Mesomeso-san" for which the manga offers a new retelling.

Higanbana no Saku Yoru ni will be released on the PC on August 14.

MangaGamer released the first eight Higurashi: When They Cry visual novel games in English.

A trailer for the first volume of the Higanbana no Saku Yoru ni manga is below.

[Via Ota-suke]

discuss this in the forum (3 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

Interest homepage / archives