Ring Horror Novel's New Sequel Revealed by Author Koji Suzuki

posted on 2011-12-03 14:40 EST by Egan Loo
S will be 1st new book about Sadako since 1999's Birthday

Acclaimed horror novelist Koji Suzuki (Dark Water, Dream Cruise) revealed on Thursday that he is writing S, the first new book about his Ring lead character Sadako in over a decade. Suzuki spoke at a talk held in Moscow; six of his novels have been translated into Russian.

The following contains minor spoilers about the new novel's premise, compared to the first novel's premise:

Spoiler (highlight the following white text to read)

Suzuki said, "If Sadako were to emerge from computer screens, what would happen? That's going to be the story."

The new novel is set in 2014, after the events of Suzuki's first Ring novel and its sequel Rasen (Spiral). In the previous stories, the malevolent spirit Sadako travelled from one victim to another via videotape. In the new novel, her curse spreads through cloud computing on the Internet to far-flung locations.

The North American publisher Vertical released Suzuki's first four books about Sadako and her curse: Ring (1991), Rasen (1995), Loop (1998), and the Birthday anthology (1999). The Ring novel inspired a hit live-action Japanese film of the same name with multiple sequel and prequel projects, as well as remakes in South Korea and the United States. The novels also spawned several manga projects that Dark Horse Comics published in North America.

The Asahi Shimbun paper is streaming a short video of Suzuki speaking at Moscow.

Source: Asahi via My Game News Sokuhō

discuss this in the forum (6 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

Interest homepage / archives

Loading next article...