• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Tezuka Award Winner Announced

posted on by Christopher Macdonald
Naoki Urasawa Wins Second Grand Prize

The official website for the Osamu Tezuka Cultural Prize has announced the winners of the 2005 prizes.

Grand Prize: Pluto (based on a Tezuka manga) by Naoki Urasawa
Shinsei (new hope) Award: Yunagi no Machi, Sakura no Kuni by Kono Fumiyo
Short Story Award: Mainichi Kaa-san and Jokyo Monogatari by Rieko Saibara
Special Award: Kawasaki City Museum

This is Urasawa's second Osamu Tezuka Cultural Grand Prize, he previously won in 1999 for Monster. Pluto is based on "The Biggest Robot on Earth," a story arc in Osamu Tezuka's Astro Boy.

follow-up of Tezuka Cultural Awards
discuss this in the forum (6 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives