• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

55th Shogakukan Manga Award Winners Announced

posted on by Egan Loo

The final judging committee of the 55th Shogakukan Manga Awards has announced this year's winners on Thursday. Each winning title will be honored with a bronze statuette and a prize of 1 million yen (about US$11,000) at a March 3 ceremony at the Imperial Hotel in Tokyo.

Shogakukan has been awarding this prize since 1956 (for works published in 1955). Recent winners have included Yumi Hotta and Takeshi Obata's Hikaru no Go (2000), Rumiko Takahashi's Inuyasha (2002), Naoki Urasawa's 20th Century Boys (2003), Mine Yoshizaki's Keroro Gunsō (2005), Kotomi Aoki's Boku no Hatsukoi o Kimi ni Sasagu (2008), and just last year, Kanoko Sakurakoji's Black Bird.

Children's Category

A Penguin's Troubles
Yūji Nagai
Serialized in Coro Coro Comic (Shogakukan)

Boys' Category

Sket Dance
Kenta Shinohara
Serialized in Weekly Shonen Jump (Shueisha)

Girls' Category

Machi de Uwasa no Tengu no Ko
Nao Iwamoto
Serialized in Flowers (Shogakukan)

General Category

Shinya Shokudō
Yarō Abe
Serialized in Big Comic Original (Shogakukan)

A special judges' award will also be presented to the film and television production studio Toei. The award honors Toei's contributions to raising the awareness of manga through its many adaptations.

Source: Sankei Sports

discuss this in the forum (4 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives