• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

54th Shogakukan Manga Award Winners Announced

posted on by Egan Loo

The final judging committee of the 54th Shogakukan Manga Awards has announced this year's winners on Tuesday. Each winning title will be honored with a bronze statuette and a prize of 1 million yen (about US$11,000) at a March 3 ceremony at the Imperial Hotel in Tokyo. Although manga from other publishers have won this award in previous years, every winner this year comes from Shogakukan itself.

Shogakukan has been awarding this prize since 1956 (for works published in 1955). Recent winners have included Yumi Hotta and Takeshi Obata's Hikaru no Go (2000), Rumiko Takahashi's Inuyasha (2002), Naoki Urasawa's 20th Century Boys (2003), Mine Yoshizaki's Keroro Gunsō (2005), and just last year, Kotomi Aoki's Boku no Hatsukoi o Kimi ni Sasagu.

Children's Category

Naisho no Tsubomi
Yū Yabuuchi
Serialized in Shōgaku 5-nensei (Shogakukan)

Boys' Category

Cross Game
Mitsuru Adachi
Serialized in Weekly Shonen Sunday (Shogakukan)

Girls' Category

Black Bird
Kanoko Sakurakoji
Serialized in Betsucomi (Shogakukan)

Reportedly to be published in North America by Viz Media

General Category

Gaku - Minna no Yama
Shinichi Ishizuka
Serialized in Big Comic Original (Shogakukan)

Source: animeanime.jp

discuss this in the forum (2 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives