Mardock Scramble: The First Compression Released Monday

posted on by Andrew Osmond
Also, a 'Complete Series Collection' of Birdy the Mighty: Decode.

Mardock Scramble: The First Compression will be released on DVD (RRP £19.99) and Blu-ray (RRP £24.99) on Monday April 16 (right). The film is the first in a trilogy of films adapted from the books by Tow Ubukata.

In the story, a teenage prostitute named Rune Balot is caught in an explosion, then turned into an advanced cyborg. Balot takes on the worst of Mardock City's criminals as she looks for vengeance. Megumi Hayashibara voices Rune Balot, in a project directed by Susumu Kudo at the studio GoHands.

The DVD and Blu-ray each contain two versions of the film, a theatrical cut (62 minutes) and a more explicit Director's Cut (66 minutes). The two versions are rated as "15" and "18" respectively, meaning the actual release is rated 18.

The film is released by Kaze UK through Manga Entertainment. Manga is also releasing a "Complete Series Collection" edition of Birdy the Mighty Decode (RRP £39.99, left). This contains 26 episodes in total - both TV seasons, plus the OAV episode, Birdy the Mighty Decode: The Cipher, which is set between the first and second seasons.

discuss this in the forum (3 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives