009 Re:Cyborg, Lagrange, Eureka 7 AO Earn Japan Sci-Fi Con Nods

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
Bodacious Space Pirates, Negima!, Zetsubou-Sensei, Tetsuwan Birdy Evolution, more nominated

The 52nd Japan Science Fiction Convention (Nihon SF Taikai or Japan SF Con/Koikon) has announced its nominations for the 44th Seiun Awards. The following works have been nominated for the Media category:

  • Bodacious Space Pirates
  • 009 RE:Cyborg
  • Lagrange - The Flower of Rin-ne
  • Eureka Seven AO
  • Hideaki Anno and Studio Ghibli's "Kyoshinhei Tokyo ni Arawaru" (Giant God Warrior Appears in Tokyo) live-action tokusatsu (special-effects) short
  • Joss Whedon's The Avengers film
  • Timo Vuorensola's Iron Sky film

The following works have been nominated for the Comic category:

  • Masami Yuuki's Tetsuwan Birdy Evolution
  • Yukinobu Hoshino's Hoshi wo Tsugu Mono
  • Yuichi Hasegawa's MAPS Next Sheet
  • Reiko Shimizu's Himitsu - Top Secret
  • Katsuhiro Otomo's Artwork Kaba2
  • Kôji Kumeta's Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei
  • Ken Akamatsu's Negima! Magister Negi Magi

Additionally, Otomo's "Genga" art exhibition and the "Kanchō Anno Hideaki Tokusatsu Hakubutsukan" (Curator Hideaki Anno's Special Effects Museum) exhibition both garnered a nomination in the Free Entry category.

This year's awards ceremony will be held at the Koicon convention, which will be held from July 20-21 in Hiroshima.

"Seiun Shō" literally translates to "nebula awards," but the Japan SF Con's Seiun Awards are more akin to Worldcon's Hugo Awards, in that the attendees of each respective convention vote on the winners. There is another set of awards, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of Japan's Nihon SF Taishō honors, that are the rough Japanese equivalent of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America's Nebula Awards. Like the Hugo Awards, the Seiun Awards honor all forms of speculative fiction — including but not limited to science fiction — and related materials.

The Puella Magi Madoka Magica television anime series and the Mobile Suit Gundam: The Origin manga won Seiun Awards last year. The Fullmetal Alchemist manga, Kato, Hiroshi Yamamoto, Issui Ogawa, and the Hayabusa satellite won in 2011, while Guin Saga, Summer Wars, and Pluto won in 2010.


discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives