Discotek Media Adds 1st 5 Dr. Slump Anime Films

posted on 2013-06-12 17:51 EDT
Films adapting Akira Toriyama's manga about incompetent inventor to ship in 1 DVD set

North American anime distributor Discotek Media announced on Wednesday that it will release the first five Dr. Slump anime films in one DVD box set. Discotek Media will release the set with Japanese audio and English subtitles.

The films that will be featured in the set include:

  • Dr. Slump and Arale-chan: Hello! Wonder Island (Dr. Slump & Arale-chan Hello! Fushigi Jima)
  • Dr. Slump: "Hoyoyo!" Space Adventure (Dr. Slump: Hoyoyo! Uchū Daibōken)
  • Dr. Slump and Arale-chan: Hoyoyo, Great Round-the-World Race (Dr. Slump & Arale-chan Hoyoyo! Sekai Issuu Dai Race)
  • Dr. Slump and Arale-chan: Hoyoyo! The Treasure of Nanaba Castle (Dr. Slump & Arale-chan Hoyoyo! Nanaba Shiro no Hihou)
  • Dr. Slump and Arale-chan: Hoyoyo! Dream Capital Mecha Police (Dr. Slump & Arale-chan Hoyoyo! Yume no To Mecha Police)

The films were produced yearly between 1981-1985. The five films, along with two television anime series and other anime films, all adapt Akira Toriyama's (Dragonball) manga about the misadventures of the incompetent inventor Senbei Norimaki and his android daughter Arale. Viz Media published the original 18-volume manga series in North America between 2005-2009.

Thanks to Rukiia for the news tip.

discuss this in the forum (23 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives