• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Sword Art Online To Be Released Over 4 Parts

posted on by Andrew Osmond
Also, more details of Collector's Edition of The Wolf Children Ame and Yuki.

At the Ayacon anime convention, Jeremy Graves of Manga Entertainment made a guest appearance on the UK Anime News live podcast and confirmed the following details about Manga's upcoming release of the action-fantasy series Sword Art Online on DVD and Blu-ray.

- It will be released in four parts, each released as both a Blu-ray/DVD combo pack (SRP £29.99) and a DVD edition (SRP £19.99). Part 1 will carry the first 7 episodes; part 2 will carry episodes 8-14; part 3 will carry episodes 15-19; and part 4 will carry episodes 20-25. Graves commented that the four-part format was 'part of the terms of the agreement to get the show out quickly.'

- Part 1 will be released in December, with the later parts provisionally planned to be released at a rate of one of month (i.e. Part 4 is provisionally planned for March).

- Graves also confirmed there will be no extras on the release, as the extras released in the U.S. were exclusive to Aniplex of America.

- At present, there will be no 'complete collection box,' at least in the forseeable future.

Re Manga Entertainment's release of Mamoru Hosoda's The Wolf Children Ame and Yuki on December 23, Graves confirmed it will be released as an individual DVD edition, and also as a Collector's Edition. The latter will contain a DVD, a Blu-ray, and a second DVD disc which will contain (Graves thought) more than an hour of extras. Also, the Collector's Edition will have a Blu-ray sized case, a slip cover and contain four art cards carrying sketches by Hosoda. It will be a limited release.

discuss this in the forum (16 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives