• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Sound! Euphonium 2's 1st BD/DVD Includes Unaired Short Movie

posted on by Alex Mateo
BD/DVD ships in Japan on December 21

The official website for Sound! Euphonium 2, Kyoto Animation's second television anime season based on Ayano Takeda's Hibike! Euphonium: Kitauji Kōkō Suisōgaku-Bu e Yōkoso novel, revealed on Wednesday that the show's first Blu-ray Disc and DVD volume will include the unaired short movie, "Hanabi-taikai Kiss e Yōkoso!" (Welcome to the Fireworks Festival Kiss). The Blu-ray Disc will cost 6,500 yen (about US$62), and the DVD will cost 5,700 yen (about US$55). Both ship in Japan on December 21.

The first set will include the second season's 48-minute first episode. The website lists the series with seven Blu-ray Disc/DVD releases.

Crunchyroll is streaming Sound! Euphonium 2 on Wednesdays at 1:00 p.m. EDT. The stream is available for users worldwide excluding Asia.

Takeda's original 2013 novel and the first Sound! Euphonium television anime's story follows the Kitauji High School Concert Band, which used to always advance to national competitions. Ever since the adviser changed, it has not advanced past the Kansai tournament. However, thanks to the newly appointed adviser's strict instruction, the students are steadily improving. The band members' daily lives are full of ups and downs including fights over solos and the decision to resign extracurricular activities to focus on studies.

Takeda followed up the original novel with the Hibike! Euphonium 2 Kitauji Kōkō Suisōgaku-Bu no Ichiban Nagai Natsu (The Kitauji High School Concert Band's Longest Summer) novel in March 2015, then the Hibike! Euphonium 2 Kitauji Kōkō Suisōgaku-Bu, Saidai no Kiki (The Kitauji High School Concert Band's Worst Disaster) novel in April 2015, and then the Hibike! Euphonium 2 Kitauji Kōkō Suisōgaku-Bu no Himitsu no Hanashi (The Kitauji High School Concert Band's Secret Story) novel in June 2015. Takeda released the Rikka Kōkō Marching Band e Yōkoso! (Welcome to the Rikka High School Marching Band) spinoff novel in August, focusing on the character Azusa Sasaki and Rikka High School (based on the real-life nationally renowned Tachibana High School Marching Band).

Thanks to Michael Millard for the news tip.

discuss this in the forum (6 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives