• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Ikimonogakari Releasing New Single Baku OP Theme Song for Anime 'Boruto: Naruto Next Generations'

“BAKU” digitally available today!
Stream here. Watch music video here.

New Single
Release on February 24, 2021

In 2008, Ikimono-gakari released “Blue Bird” as the OP theme song for anime series “Naruto: Shippuden” and it has been evermore one of the most renowned anime-song loved by fans all around the world. This time, Ikimono-gakari is back again singing “BAKU,” the OP theme song for anime “Boruto: Naruto Next Generations” (hereinafter, referred to as “Boruto”), the sequel to “Naruto: Shippuden.”

Being Ikimono-gakari's 33rd single, “BAKU” will be released on February 24. Title track “BAKU” is digitally released today, and the cover art is revealed as well. The cover art of “BAKU” is the special illustration of main characters in “Boruto” coping the cover art of “Blue Bird.”

The music video of “BAKU” is released along with the song's digital distribution. This is Ikimono-gakari's first MV work in 2021 and is directed by the new director HARU (koe Inc.). Under the theme of the mythology “dream-eating baku” and “dream,” the members perform in a colorful box in the MV, creating an abstract and pop world view fitting the music. There is also a scene in which the members of Ikimono-gakari themselves dress as "baku". Watch the MV here.

The single consists of five tracks, including the newly remastered version of “Blue Bird” and “Hotarunohikari,” both OP theme song for anime “Naruto: Shippuden,” and the remixed version of “Blue Bird” by Slushii. The complete single will be released on February 24. Prior to the single release, the title track “BAKU” is releasing digitally today (January 18). Moreover, Ikimono-gakari is releasing their 9th studio album “WHO?” in March 2021 to celebrate their 15th anniversary.

1. BAKU (TV Anime “Boruto: Naruto Next Generations” OP Theme Song)
2. Blue Bird 2021 Remastered
3. Hotarunohikari 2021 Remastered
4. Blue Bird Slushii Remix
5. BAKU -Instrumental-

Boruto: Naruto Next Generations” is an anime series which original manga series written by Ukyō Kodachi and Masashi Kishimoto, illustrated by Mikio Ikemoto. It is the sequel to the worldwide popular manga/anime series “Naruto” and “Naruto: Shippuden.” The anime series started in 2017 and is now airing on TV and also streaming worldwide through multiple platforms such as Hulu and Crunchyroll. See the official website here.


Consists of Yoshiki Mizuno (Gt.), Hotaka Yamashita (Gt. / Harmonica) and Kiyoe Yoshioka (Vo.), Ikimono-gakari was formed in 1999 and made their debut in 2006. Initially, YOSHIKI and Hotaka, who were friends since elementary, junior high and high schools, formed Ikimono-gakari on February 1, 1999. The two were both in charge of “ikimono (lit. living things),” taking care of goldfish in the first grade in elementary school, and so they named their band “Ikimono-gakari (lit. living things clerk).”

Started performing on the streets at their hometown Atsushi/Ebina and along the Odakyu Lines, the younger sister of YOSHIKI and Hotaka's classmate, Kiyoe Yoshioka, suddenly joined to perform together with them on November 3, 1999. Kiyoe has been interested in singing since she was a child, therefore she joined the band and Ikimono-gakari became a trio band. With Kiyoe's amazing singing voice, the three performed at venues in their hometown and Ikimono-gakari gradually became bigger, tickets to their concerts were often sold out.

They made their major debut on March 15, 2006 with the song “SAKURA” and has continue to release numerous hit songs ever since. On January 5, 2017, they announced that the band will go on a break, referring to the hiatus as a “grazing period,” and on November 2, 2018 they made the announcement to assemble and resumed their band activities. Ikimono-gakari continues their music career, releasing album “WE DO” in December 2019, digitally released “Ikiru” as the collab song with the popular web manga series “100 Nichi Go ni Shinu Wani (The Crocodile Who Dies in 100 Days)” in March 2020, and “Kirakira ni Hikaru” as the theme song for TV series “Mikaiketsu no Ona: Keishicyo Bunsho Sosakan” on August 31, 2020. They successfully held their first online music festival “BS Ikimono-gakari DIGITAL FES 2020: 20th anniversary since formation! -Let's celebrate remotely!-” on September 19, 2020.

On February 24, 2021, they are releasing their 33rd single “BAKU,” with the title track being picked up as the OP theme song for the anime series “Boruto: Naruto Next Generations.” The first Ikimono-gakari remix song “Bluebird Slushii Remix” will also be included in the single, becoming a hot topic. To celebrate their 15th anniversary since debut, Ikimono-gakari is releasing their 9th studio album “WHO?” in March 2021.

bookmark/share with: short url

Press Release homepage / archives