• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

07-Ghost Anime Promo Video, Theme Songs Posted Online

posted on by Egan Loo
Yuki Amemiya, Yukino Ichihara's gothic fantasy manga gets anime in April

The official website for the anime adaptation of Yuki Amemiya and Yukino Ichihara's popular 07-Ghost gothic fantasy manga has posted a promotional video. The video highlights the animation staff, the cast members, and the April television premiere in Japan. (The video first premiered at last month's Comic Market event in Tokyo.) Below the promotional video are samples of the opening theme song "Aka no Kakera" by Yuki Suzuki and the ending theme song "Hitomi no Kotae" by Noria.

The manga's story revolves around Teito, a former slave with magical powers who is taking the graduation final to become an army officer in the Barsburg Empire. He does well during the first part of the final exam, but discovers his father's killer in his school and tries to kill him. Teito eludes capture, but gets caught in the larger struggle between Verloren, the God of Death, and the “beings of light” sent by Heaven to oppose him: the Seven Ghosts.

The anime staff at Studio DEEN includes director Nobuhiro Takamoto (Tenchi in Tokyo, Tokimeki Memorial ~Only Love~), series script supervisor Natsuko Takahashi (Antique Bakery, Moyashimon), character designer Maki Fujii (Kannazuki no Miko, Hakushaku to Yōsei), animation director Yukiko Ban (Gintama, .hack//SIGN), and musical composer Kotaro Nakagawa (Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion, s-CRY-ed). Mitsuki Saiga, Daisuke Namikawa, Junichi Suwabe, Susumu Chiba, Kōki Miyata, and Shō Hayami head the cast, most of whom are returning from the earlier vocal drama CD adaptation.

The North American publisher Go! Comi announced in May that it has licensed the 07-Ghost manga. The first volume of Go! Comi's release shipped last month, and a preview of the manga has been posted online.

Image © Yuki Amemiya/Yukino Ichihara/Ichijinsha, 07 Ghost Production Committee

bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives