• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Go! Comi's Former Site Relaunched Under False Pretenses

posted on by Egan Loo
Former creative director confirms that site asking for donations is a scam

Former Go! Comi creative director Audry Taylor confirmed on Facebook and Twitter that the gocomi.com address is now being used by an unknown party that falsely claims to be reviving the manga publisher. Go! Comic had stopped publishing in October of 2009 and had let its gocomi.com website domain expire last May.

The current holder of the gocomi.com domain claims to be Go! Media Entertainment, LLC, complete with Go! Comi's "The Soul of Manga" logo. The site is also asking for donations via a PayPal account. Taylor gave the following warning:

The former gocomi.com website that I used to run has been turned into a scam by unidentified criminals unrelated to Go! Comi, a company which no longer exists. It is not real. Do not donate. Gonna [sic] my lawyers on them. Please share this post with manga fans and readers.

Update: The domain is registered under a phone number and email address from Austria, and the PayPal account is associated with an email address from Germany. However, a domain registrant's contact information is not necessarily verified as accurate or true during the registration process.

discuss this in the forum (9 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives