Animated Feature Oscar Rules Changed

posted on 2011-06-20 22:34 EDT by Andrew Osmond

The governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced changes to the rules for the Oscar Award for the Best Animated Feature last week. According to the press release, "In any year in which 8 to 12 animated features are released, either 2 or 3 of them may be nominated. When 13 to 15 films are released, a maximum of 4 may be nominated, and when 16 or more animated features are released, a maximum of 5 may be nominated."

Under the old rules, even if 15 eligbile animated features were released in a year, only three could be nominated. Such was the case last year, when 15 films, including Summer Wars, were submitted for consideration. How to Train Your Dragon, The Illusionist, and Toy Story 3 received nominations, and Toy Story 3 won.

Since the Best Animated Feature Oscar was first presented in 2001, one anime feature won when Spirited Away was one of five nominees in 2002. Another anime feature was nominated when Howl's Moving Castle was one of three nominees in 2005. (Howl lost to Britain's Wallace and Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit.)


discuss this in the forum (35 posts) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives