• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Parasyte the Maxim and Aldonah.Zero Released Monday (Updated)

posted on by Andrew Osmond
Also live-action Attack on Titan, next Sword Art Online II, new editions of Titan anime, Michiko and Hatchin, Kill la Kill

An earlier version of this story left out the release of Sword Art Online II Part 4 - apologies for the mistake.

On Monday June 27, Animatsu will release the first half of the anime Parasyte -the maxim-, carrying the first eleven episodes. It will be released both as a standard Blu-ray edition and a 'Deluxe' combo edition; the latter is limited to a thousand units and includes a 'bearbrick' figure of the parasite character Migi.

Sentai Filmworks described the story:

Unbeknownst to mankind the world is quietly being invaded. Alien beings known as “Parasytes” begin infiltrating humans one by one, burrowing into their brains to take complete control of both their bodies and their identities. With an insatiable hunger for human flesh these cold and calculating creatures mutate into grotesque monsters who feed on the unsuspecting when they're not hiding behind the faces of everyday people. Only Shinichi Izumi, a lone high school boy, is aware of the terror lurking in plain sight. After one Parasyte's attempt to take over his brain ends in failure, Shinichi's right arm is instead possessed by this monster with a mind and an agenda all its own. As Shinichi and his unwanted cohabitant, “Migi,” struggle for dominance of his body, the alien infection continues to grow and so does the trail of bodies in its wake. Now Shinichi and Migi must become more than host and parasite if they hope to not only protect themselves, but Shinichi's loved ones as well. As Shinichi and Migi's symbiotic bond deepens, will Shinichi be able to hold on to his humanity, or will he evolve into something more than he ever imagined?

Hitoshi Iwaaki serialized the manga in Kodansha's Afternoon magazine from 1990-1995. Mixxine, the company that eventually became Tokyopop, published Parasyte in its Mixxine magazine and later in compiled book volumes. Del Rey then republished the series from 2007-2009, and Kodansha Comics republished the manga again from 2011-2012.

Anime Limited is releasing Aldnoah.Zero as both a Blu-ray Collector's Edition and a DVD. The Blu-ray edition includes a booklet.

The story is set in an alternative history where the Apollo 17 mission in 1972 discovered a hypergate to Mars on the moon. Soon a war breaks out between Earth and Mars, and Martian soldiers begin to descend from the sky, riding steel giants, intent on exterminating humanity.

Gen Urobuchi (Puella Magi Madoka Magica, Fate/Zero, Psycho-Pass, Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet) wrote the opening episodes of the series, by Fate/Zero director Ei Aoki at A-1 Pictures and TROYCA. Katsuhiko Takayama is in charge of the series scripts. Manga artist Takako Shimura (Wandering Son, Sweet Blue Flowers) provided the original character designs, which Atsuko Matsumoto adapted for the anime. I-IV and Kenji Teraoka designed the mecha.

Animatsu is releasing the first of the live-action film versions of Attack on Titan on Blu-ray and DVD. Director Shinji Higuchi (who contributed extensively to the Neon Genesis Evangelion franchise) said that, with the supervision of Attack on Titan manga creator Hajime Isayama, the story is based on the world and characters of the manga, while incorporating new characters and new formidable enemies. Yuusuke Watanabe (Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Gods, live-action Gantz, Gantz II: Perfect Answer, 20th Century Boys, Gatchaman) wrote the scripts. Film critic Tomohiro Machiyama, who is also friends with Isayama, worked on the scripts together with Isayama and Watanabe.

Anime Limited is releasing the fourth and final part of Sword Art Online II, as both a dual-format Collector's Edition and a DVD. The set is subtitled 'Arc 3: Mother's Rosario,' and carries parts 20 to 24 of the series.

Manga Entertainment is releasing a Complete Season Collection of the anime version of Attack on Titan. Released on both Blu-ray and DVD, it contains the 25 anime episodes of the original season.

MVM will release a "Complete Series" edition of Michiko and Hatchin on DVD. The series, about a gun-toting woman and her daughter by female director Sayo Yamamoto, was previously released by MVM in two volumes.

Anime Limited is releasing the third 'standard' volume of Kill la Kill on both Blu-ray and DVD, carrying parts 20 to 25 of the series.

bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives