BanG Dream! OVA Airs on TV, Streams Online in Japan

posted on by Karen Ressler
Beach episode to also be included in Blu-ray release

The official website for the BanG Dream! franchise announced on July 13 that the "Asonjatta!" (Goofed Off!) OVA will air on television and stream in Japan before it ships on the seventh Blu-ray Disc. It will stream on AbemaTV on August 19 at 10:00 p.m., and then air at 10:30 p.m. on Tokyo MX, Sun TV, and KBS Kyoto. It will also air on BS11, AT-X, and TV Aichi. The seventh Blu-ray Disc will ship on November 22. The OVA also have advance screening events in Japan.

The OVA's story takes place during the main characters' summer vacation. Tired of doing their homework, the five members of Poppin' Party decide to go to the beach. There, the members of Roselia are staying at a nearby house for band practice.

Bushiroad launched the BanG Dream! multimedia project in January 2015, and the company formed the Poppin' Party band for the project in February 2015. The band's members consist of voice actresses who portray the characters in the story, and they play the same instruments as their characters. The cast includes:

  • Aimi as Kasumi Toyama on guitar and vocals
  • Ayasa Itō as Arisa Ichigaya on keyboard
  • Rimi Nishimoto as Rimi Ushigome on bass
  • Sae Ootsuka as Tae Hanazono on lead guitar
  • Ayaka Ohashi as Saaya Yamabuki on drums

The 13-episode television anime premiered in Japan in January, and Anime Network Online streamed the anime in several countries as it aired. Sentai Filmworks has licensed the television series for digital and home video releases, and it describes the story:

When she was a child, Kasumi Toyama (played by Poppin' Party's lead singer, Aimi) felt a heart-pounding thrill every time she gazed at the stars, and she's been looking without success for something that could inspire the same feeling ever since. One day, she comes across a star-shaped guitar in a rundown pawnshop and, for the first time, discovers the thrill she's been searching for. Kasumi becomes determined to form an all-girl band, and her search leads her to four like-minded souls: Saya, Arisa, Rimi, and Tae (all brought to life by the members of Poppin' Party). Does this band have what it takes to make their dreams of stardom come true?

Bushiroad and OLM's joint anime brand ISSEN is credited with the original work, and also handled animation production alongside XEBEC. Novelist Kō Nakamura is credited with the original story, and Hitowa designed the original characters. Atsushi Ootsuki (Wagnaria!!2, To Love Ru: Darkness, Argevollen) directed the anime, and Yuniko Ayana (Locodol, Girls Beyond the Wasteland, Hello!! KINMOZA) handled the series composition. Matsuko Nitta adapted Hitowa's characters for animation, and Noriyasu Agematsu and Junpei Fujita from Elements Garden produced the music.

Source: Anime! Anime!

discuss this in the forum (1 post) |
bookmark/share with:

News homepage / archives