• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Forum - View topic
NEWS: World's End Harem Anime's Episode 2 and Later Delayed to January

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Note: this is the discussion thread for this article

Anime News Network Forum Index -> Site-related -> Talkback
View previous topic :: View next topic  
09jcg

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 8:49 pm Reply with quote
This seems REAL late in the game to postpone it. I wonder if the content was too extreme for the broadcasters? As far as the western release is concerned, it definitely feels like something that would have been more at home on Hi Dive than crunchy
DRosencraft

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 9:11 pm Reply with quote
I will confess that I have no knowledge of the source material. The description, however, sounds more like a hentai plot than a mainstream anime, so I question how this ever got promoted to such a level. I have some minor faith that back in the day this could have been done as a mostly harmless romcom, but given the penchant of anime of the last half decade or so to be as explicit as possible, I can't see this going anywhere meaningful.

It's curious that it got pulled the day before launch. The content question is an alluring culprit, but this isn't a streaming service pulling the plug, but the whole series being delayed a season. This seems more like a production issue, and a fairly major and sudden one seeing that it didn't get pulled until the day before launch. You would assume at least the first few episodes are in the can, so it would have to be something wrong with a fairly early episode for them to feel like they can't do anything to fix it in time.
MagicPolly

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2021 9:21 pm Reply with quote
Seems like they're trying to avoid another interspecies reviewers situation, and I don't blame them
Key