• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Old Boy Wins Eisner Award

posted on by Christopher Macdonald
Dark Horse's Old Boy wins Best Manga category, manga shut out elsewhere

After dominating the nominations for the Eisner category for Best U.S. Edition of International Material for several years (although not winning in 2006), manga was split off to its own category this year, Best U.S. Edition of International Material - Japan. Old Boy, by Garon Tsuchiya and Nobuaki Minegishi, won the category in its inaugural year. Old Boy is published in North America by Dark Horse.

The other nominees for Best U.S. Edition of International Material - Japan were After School Nightmare by Setona Mizushiro (Go! Comi), Antique Bakery by Fumi Yoshinaga (Digital Manga), Monster by Naoki Urasawa (Viz), and The Walking Man by Jiro Taniguchi (Fanfare / Ponent Mon).

Manga were also nominated in a few other categories, however they did not win in any of those categories. Abandon the Old in Tokyo by Yoshihiro Tatsumi (Drawn & Quarterly) and Ode to Kirihito by Osamu Tezuka (Vertical) were nominated for Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books, the Eisner was won by Absolute Sandman Volume 1 by Neil Gaiman and various other creators (Vertigo/DC).

Japan as Viewed by 17 Creators, edited by Frédéric Boilet (Fanfare / Ponent Mon) was nominated for Best Anthology, however that award was won by Fables: 1001 Nights of Snowfall by Bill Willingham and various other creators (Vertigo/DC).

Monster was nominated for Best Continuing Series; the award was won by All Star Superman by Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely (DC).

Project X Challengers: Cup Noodle by Tadashi Katoh (Digital Manga) was nominated for Best Reality-Based Work; the award was won by Fun Home by Alison Bechdel (Houghton Mifflin).

OEL/World Manga were also nominated in several categories, but did not win in any of them. Writers Ross Campbell (Abandoned from Tokyopop) and Svetlana Chmakova, (Dramacon from Tokyopop), were both nominated for Special Recognition; however, the award was won by Hope Larson (Gray Horses from Oni).

East Coast Rising by Becky Cloonan (Tokyopop) was nominated for Best New Series, however the award was won by Criminal by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Marvel Icon).

Tokyopop was one of three publishers with four nominations.

discuss this in the forum (16 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives