• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

15th Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize Winners Announced

posted on by Egan Loo

The Asahi Shimbun paper announced the winners for the 15th Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prizes on Monday. The awards commemorate the contributions of the manga pioneer Osamu Tezuka (Astro Boy/Mighty Atom, Kimba the White Lion/Jungle Emperor, Phoenix, Black Jack) by recognizing the manga that best follow his tradition.

Grand Prize

Motoka Murakami

Story: Issei Eifuku 
Art: Taiyo Matsumoto 

New Artist Prize

Hiromu Arakawa
Fullmetal Alchemist
Square Enix
Published in North America by Viz Media

Short Work Prize

Keisuke Yamashina
Manga creator (C-kyū Salaryman Kōza, Papa wa Nanda ka Wakaranai, other salaryman manga)

This year's nominating committee — which includes manga creator Gō Nagai, manga creator Keiko Takemiya, novelist Shion Miura, essayists, and university professors — selected from among the works that were published from January to December of 2010.

The newspaper awards a 2-million-yen (about US$24,000) Manga Grand Prize along with a statuette of Tezuka's Mighty Atom character. In addition, 1 million yen (US$12,000) goes to each of the winners of the New Artist Prize, Short Work Prize, and the Special Prize every year. The awards presentation ceremony will take place on May 27.

Hyouge Mono, Mushi to Uta, Thermae Romae, and Comiket co-founder Yoshihiro Yonezawa won last year's prizes.

Source: Asahi Shimbun

Update: The Shinsei Prize was awarded to Arakawa specifically.

discuss this in the forum (7 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives