• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

9th Manga Taisho Awards Nominate 11 Titles

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins

The executive committee for the ninth Manga Taisho awards listed this year's 11 nominated works on Monday. (The official English name of the awards is the "Cartoon Grand Prize.")

Manga Taisho 2016 Nominees

Okazaki ni Sasagu (Dedicated to Okazaki)
Saho Yamamoto
Koi wa Ameagari no You ni (Love is Like After the Rain)
Jun Mayuzuki
Golden Kamuy
Satoru Noda
Dungeon Meshi (Dungeon Food)
Ryōko Kui
Tokyo Tarareba Musume (Tokyo "What If" Girl)
Akiko Higashimura
Tonkatsu DJ Agetarō
Ipyao, Yūjirō Koyama
Nami yo Kiite Kure (Waves, Listen to Me)
Hiroaki Samura
Hyakumanjō Labyrinth (One Million Tatami Labyrinth)
Blue Giant
Shinichi Ishizuka
Boku dake ga Inai Machi (The Town Where Only I Am Missing)
Kei Sanbe
Machida-kun no Sekai (The World of Machida-kun)
Yuki Andō

The nominating committee is composed mainly of bookstore staffers who are in charge of their respective stores' manga. Any manga title that was released in 2015 and has eight volumes or less is eligible. The volume cap is intentionally added so that the prize winners would be relatively new works that have not already earned their popularity through sheer longevity.

The second round of voting will determine the winner of Manga Taisho 2016, which will be announced at an awards ceremony held on March 29.

Previous winners include:

Tonkatsu DJ Agetarō is receiving an anime adaptation that will begin in April. Boku dake ga Inai Machi inspired a currently airing anime adaptation titled ERASED. Crunchyroll and Funimation are streaming the anime as it airs in Japan, and Aniplex of America licensed the anime for North America.

Source: Comic Natalie

discuss this in the forum (11 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives