• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Ghost in the Shell: SAC_2045 Anime Reveals New Clip, Confirms 2nd Season

posted on by Crystalyn Hodgkins
1st season releasing on April 23 confirmed to have 12 episodes

The staff of the Ghost in the Shell: SAC_2045 anime revealed a new clip from the anime on Monday. The clip features Motoko in a brain battle.

The staff also confirmed that the anime's first season will have 12 episodes, with plans for a second season moving forward. Production I.G. USA president Maki Terashima-Furuta previously stated during an interview that the anime would have two 12-episode seasons, with Kenji Kamiyama (Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex) directing one of the seasons, and Shinji Aramaki (Appleseed) directing the other.

The staff also revealed new character visuals by character designer Ilya Kushinov.

Ghost in the Shell: SAC_2045, the new 3D CG Ghost in the Shell anime, will debut on Netflix worldwide on April 23.

Returning cast members include:

New cast members include:

Megumi Han as Purin Ezaki, a new Section 9 member in charge of maintaining the Tachikomas

Kenjirō Tsuda as Standard, a mercenary currently attached to Section 9

Kaiji Soze as John Smith

Shigeo Kiyama as Kurisu Ōtomo Teito

Kodansha and Production I.G announced a new anime based on Masamune Shirow's Ghost in the Shell manga in April 2017. Kenji Kamiyama and Shinji Aramaki are directing the project at Production I.G and Sola Digital Arts. Russian illustrator Ilya Kushinov (The Wonderland) is the character designer. Nobuko Toda (Sweetness & Lightning, The case files of Jeweler Richard) and Kazuma Jinnouchi Busou Shinki: Moon Angel) are composing the music. Toda is best known for composing the music of the Metal Gear Solid series alongside Harry Gregson-Williams, and Toda and Jinnouchi collaborated on the Ultraman anime last year. The pair also composed the soundtracks for the Halo 4 and Halo 5 games.

Scriptwriters working on the series include: Kenji Kamiyama (Eden of the East, Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex), Ryō Higaki (The Eccentric Family, Moribito - Guardian of the Spirit), Kurasumi Sunayama (Yowamushi Pedal, Gurren Lagann), Harumi Doki (Ultraman, Cyborg 009 Call of Justice), Dai Satō (Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex, Samurai Champloo, Eureka Seven), and Daisuke Daitō.

Motion-capture actors include Kaori Kawabuchi (Motoko Kusanagi), Kaiji Soze (Daisuke Aramaki and Ishikawa), Shinji Kasahara (Batou), Chihei Okada (Togusa), Hidenori Takei (Saito), and Yarisa Yamashiro (Purin Ezaki).

Millennium Parade, the new creative team led by King Gnu member Daiki Tsuneta, are performing the opening theme song "Fly with me." Vocalists on the track include ermhoi, HIMI, Cota Mori, and Kento Nagatsuka (WONK). Mili are performing the ending theme song "sustain++;."

Source: Press release

discuss this in the forum (41 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives