• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

Coo, Gurren-Lagann, 'Kafka' Win Media Arts Awards

posted on by Egan Loo
Writer Masaki Tsuji, Dennō Coil, Mori no Asagao, others also win

The Japanese government's Ministry of Cultural Affairs has announced the winners of the 2007 (11th) Japan Media Arts Festival Awards on December 4. Keiichi Hara's Summer Days with Coo family adventure film won the Grand Prize in the Animation Division, while Mamora Gōda's Mori no Asagao, a portrayal of the Japanese capital punishment system, won the Grand Prize in the Manga Division. Masaki Tsuji, a scriptwriter whose works ranged from the earliest anime shows such as Jungle Emperor Leo and Cutey Honey to anime stalwarts such as Sazae-san and Urusei Yatsura, will receive a service prize for lifetime achievement.

Gainax's Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann robot television series and "Franz Kafka's A Country Doctor," the critically acclaimed short from Koji Yamamura, were among four winners of the Prize for Excellence in Animation. Yukari Ichijō's Pride shōjo work was among four winners of the Prize for Excellence in Manga.

The Wii Sports, the collection of sports mini-games that has sold over 2.21 milllion copies in Japan, won the Grand Prize in the Entertainment Division. (Japan is the only region where Nintendo does not bundle this game with the Nintendo Wii console.) Metal Gear Sold 4: Guns of the Patriots, the tactical stealth game that is not due until the second quarter of 2008, was among the four winners of the Prize for Excellence in Entertainment. French artist Jean-Gabriel Periot won the Grand Prize in the Art Division for nijuman no borei (200000 phantoms) piece.

Previous winners of the Media Arts Festival Awards have included Takehiko Inoue's Vagabond and Real manga, Nintendo's Nintendogs pet simulator, Aniplex's Kamichu! slice-of-life school anime, and Mamoru Hosoda's The Girl Who Leapt Through Time time-traveling anime remake.

Animation Division

Grand Prize

Summer Days with Coo (Keiichi Hara)

Excellence Prize

Ukkari Pénélope (Jun Takagi)
Tengen Toppa Gurren-Lagann (Hiroyuki Imaishi)
Dennō Coil (Mitsuo Iso)
"Franz Kafka's A Country Doctor" (Koji Yamamura)

Encouragement Prize

"ushi-nichi" (Hiroco Ichinose)

Manga Division

Grand Prize

Mori no Asagao (Mamora Gōda)

Excellence Prize

Umimachi Diary (Akimi Yoshida)
Suzuki Sensei (Kenzi Taketomi)
Takemitu Zamurai (Taiyo Matsumoto/Issei Eifuku)
Pride (Yukari Ichijō)

Encouragement Prize

Tenken-sai (Yumiko Shirai)

Source: animeanime.jp

discuss this in the forum (12 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives