• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

10 Titles Nominated for 3rd Manga Taisho Awards

posted on by Egan Loo

The executive committee for the third Manga Taisho awards has announced this year's 10 nominated works on Monday. (The official English name of the awards is the "Cartoon Grand Prize.") The 89-member nominating committee is composed mainly of bookstore staffers who are in charge of their respective stores' manga. Any manga title that was released in 2009 and has eight volumes or less is eligible. The volume cap is intentionally added so that the prize winners would be relatively new works that have not already earned their popularity through sheer longevity.

The nominating committee members each chose a maximum of five works, and the top 10 vote-getters were officially nominated. The second round of voting will determine the three winners of Manga Taisho 2010, which will be announced at an awards ceremony held at the end of March. Last year, Yuki Suetsugu's Chihayafuru won the award, while Shinichi Ishizuka won the first Manga Taisho in 2008 for his Gaku - Minna no Yama work. One of this year's nominees, Chūya Koyama's Uchū Kyōdai, was also nominated last year.

Manga Taisho 2010 Nominees

I am a Hero
Kengo Hanazawa

Aoi Honōo
Kazuhiko Shimamoto

Uchū Kyōdai
Chūya Koyama

Otoko no Isshō
Keiko Nishi

Akiko Higashimura

Kōkō Kyūji Zawa-san
Eriko Mishima

Thermae Romae
Mari Yamazaki

Tsugumi Ohba, Takeshi Obata

Mushi to Uta: Ichikawa Haruko Sakuhin-Shū
Haruko Ichikawa

Mitsurou Kubo

Source: Oricon

discuss this in the forum (4 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

this article has been modified since it was originally posted; see change history

News homepage / archives