• remind me tomorrow
  • remind me next week
  • never remind me
Subscribe to the ANN Newsletter • Wake up every Sunday to a curated list of ANN's most interesting posts of the week. read more

17th Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize Nominees Announced

posted on by Egan Loo

The Asahi Shimbun paper announced the seven nominees for the 17th Annual Tezuka Osamu Cultural Prize on Tuesday. The awards commemorate the contributions of the manga pioneer Osamu Tezuka (Astro Boy/Mighty Atom, Kimba the White Lion/Jungle Emperor, Phoenix, Black Jack) by recognizing the manga that best follow his tradition.

Mikio Igarashi

Yasuhisa Hara

Silver Spoon
Hiromu Arakawa

March comes in like a lion
Chica Umino

Shōwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjū
Haruko Kumota

Hi Score Girl
Rensuke Oshikiri
Square Enix

Hitsuji no Ki
Story: Tatsuhiko Yamagami
Art: Mikio Igarashi

Hitoshi Iwaaki's Historie won last year's Grand Prize, while Yū Itō's Shut Hell won the New Creator Prize. Roswell Hosoki's Sake no Hosomichi and other titles and a copy of Weekly Shonen Jump magazine shared by over 100 children after the Great Eastern Japan Earthquake (Higashi Nihon Daishinsai) disaster won the Short Work Prize and Special Prize, respectively.

This year's nominating committee — which includes novelist Atsuko Asano, manga creator Keiko Takemiya, manga creator Go Nagai, manga editor Haruyuki Nakano, and Kyoto Seika University professor Jaqueline Berndt — selected from among the works that were published from January to December of 2012.

The newspaper awards a 2-million-yen (about US$22,000) Manga Grand Prize along with a statuette of Tezuka's Mighty Atom character. In addition, 1 million yen (US$11,000) goes to each of the winners of the New Artist Prize, Short Work Prize, and the Special Prize every year. The winners will be announced in late April, and the actual awards presentation ceremony will take place on May 31.

Source: Comic Natalie

discuss this in the forum (2 posts) |
bookmark/share with: short url

News homepage / archives